August Challenge: Black and White… Entry #7 Mary’s Garden

This next photo is from Linda and she says…

“It was  taken at Festival Hill in  Round Top, when I  was attending a poetry conference there.  The gardens are breathtaking and I spend almost as much  time  walking through them as I do listening  to poetry when I am  there.”

Now the first photo she sent had a bit of a pale green tint to it and I wondered if perhaps she had used the saturation slider to desaturate the photo.  Here is the shot that she sent.

Mary's Garden (Photo by Linda)

Mary’s Garden
(Photo by Linda)

I rather liked the desaturated look and mentioned it to her.

“On my old computer I had some software that would turn a color photo into black and white. Since I no  longer have any photo editing software, I tried both ribbit  and fotor, but couldn’t find a way to automatically make  it black and white. I did use the saturation feature, but  didn’t realize it had a green tint. Any suggestions?”

So in response I advised her to go into “effects” under those programs and she could find multiple options for black and white.  With that, she redid her image and sent it my way.

Mary's Garden (Photo by Linda)

Mary’s Garden
(Photo by Linda)

 Thank you Linda for helping us all learn as we do these challenges!