It’s been fun while it lasted…

It has been 3 years since the inception of the Crazy Women’s Photography Club and I think the time has come to bring it to a close. I thank all of you who have been supportive during that time and I can only hope that it has given you a hobby to carry you through the rest of your life. After all… that was the purpose of the club and I certainly hope that you have come to love photography just half as much as I do.

Always remember… it’s not so much the equipment, but what you do with what you have. Look for the possibilities even when you think there is nothing to shoot. If you don’t like the big picture, then move in closer. One of your most powerful tools is shooting in RAW and learning to edit your photos. You will be amazed at how that can improve even a ho-hum photo. Most importantly… get out there and shoot. Talk to other photographers and look at their work. The more you shoot, the more you will learn.

Your photos have intrigued me, made me laugh and have even brought a few tears to my eyes. To those of you who have been active in the club, I have seen you shoot subjects you may have never thought to shoot before. And for those who embarked into photography for the first time… your creativity and talent has never ceased to amaze me. We have had a lot of good laughs along the way and have made friends with photographers near and far. It has been a fun experience!

So I wish you all well and hope you will keep in touch. There are lots of other photo groups out there. Join in and have fun.

And in the words of Imogene Cunningham…
“Which of my photographs is my favorite? The one I’m going to take tomorrow.”

Take care… and keep shooting! And don’t forget to laugh as you go through life!

19 thoughts on “It’s been fun while it lasted…

  1. Thanks for all you have done for us! Hope all is well with you Fay! My photography will be forever changed because of you and the CWPC!

    • You have had so many wonderful photos and I loved the ones you have taken that are so sentimental. I will never forget them! Keep shooting Donna and having fun!

  2. Very sad news. Is it possible to keep the site as posted for access to the helpful links? Thank you for sharing your amazing abilities with us and encouraging us to go for it with photography. Hope to continue to be able to see some of your work. Will you be posting on any other sites? All my best to you and Lucy.

    • Thank you rebeKah and thank you too for sharing your amazing photographic eye with us. I can never forget your shadow waving in the puddle with your colorful boots on or the squirrely photos you have posted. So many times your photos have brought a smile to my face or made me think… how clever! Please feel free to take advantage of any of the sites posted to the right of the blog. Lots of good info there and links. And of course I will continue to post on the various sites. After all… that is part of the fun of digital photography!

  3. I’m sorry to hear that, but I understand. I hope all is ok with you. I appreciate everything you taught me and all the fun and laughter. I’m glad I was in the arboretum one fall day and met a crazy lady named Fay. I wish you and every other crazy woman the best of luck.
    Kinnie

    • Thanks so much Kinnie. Get out there and keep shooting and remember to keep laughing. It’s good medicine! Will look forward to seeing more of your photos on flickr! You certainly do some clever portrait work! And remember to tune into Creative Live. Lots of free info on portraiture!

  4. I was always an interloper Fay, but you humoured me. I know that I didn’t contribute much … simply because if I’d acted like a Crazy Woman too many times in the UK, they would have sectioned me.

    I sincerely hope that you are okay – we don’t get to speak much now and that is something I regret. Best wishes for the future and I send all my love.

    John x.

    • Oh John… thank you so very much to you, one of the original members of the men’s auxiliary! Your participation was greatly appreciated it. Sure hope that Mrs. W. is doing well. You must prod her to get out there and shoot her lovely garden that I have been hearing about! And John… it’s OK to be a little CrAzY! It does keep life interesting! Do stay in touch…

  5. I’m sorry that the group is shutting down, it was great the time I was here, I enjoyed sharing a little bit of my adopted home of Oregon with all of you in my Birth State of Texas.
    All of you please feel free to follow my blog here on word press or feel free to friend me on Facebook. Sassie Frass if you do friend me on fb please let me know you are from here.
    Best wishes to everyone, and I hope to see y’all on FB.

  6. Fay, I know all these Crazy Women will miss your leadership and motivation. Even though I was not a member..I too will miss this group of photographers. I have enjoyed viewing the challenge photos each month.–Seeing the creativity and the world through Crazy Women has certainly been entertaining and inspiring. As an outsider I have also seen each of you stretch and grow through photography. I hope you will all continue to enjoy and view life as a Crazy Woman. I know you have touched each others lives through Fay and with your photography…pass it on.
    Fay–please know you can retreat at my home in Bowie,TX any time you want. I enjoyed our little photo adventure with Linda and hope ya’ll come back real soon—ya hear.

    • Thank you Sheila for all the nice things you have said about the “crazies”! It was a crazy fun time at the Bowie B&B, for sure! And it was crazy when you and Linda got those old bedsprings from the demolished house. Thanks for a great time!

Leave a Reply

