February Challenge: Focus… Entry #4 Where is My Focus?

This next entry is from Venus, one of our newer members.

“Ok… on the first one, I think only one little berry is in focus. The wind was blowing and this is the best I could get.

F/5.6, 1/125 sec, ISO 280, at 55mm (Photo by Venus)

F/5.6, 1/125 sec, ISO 280, at 55mm
(Photo by Venus)


The second one has nothing important in focus. From his jacket down is good but the rest, no. I ended up going to f22 and it worked better but I did not have my tripod.”
F/4, 1/125 sec, ISO 100, at 55mm (Photo by Venus)

F/4, 1/125 sec, ISO 100, at 55mm
(Photo by Venus)

One thought on “February Challenge: Focus… Entry #4 Where is My Focus?

  1. Thanks so much Venus for your entry! I think you are right on that first photo. Very little is in focus and I think I see the berry you are talking about that is in focus. It looks like you were on a fairly shallow depth of field and you had leaves immediately in front of the camera. Certainly the wind blowing did not help.

    On the second photo… shooting at a distance even though you were shooting at f/4, your photo of the fella looks very sharp to me, as he is being still and he is on the same plane of focus, but you can see the focus soften on the structure just behind him and I like that.

    Excellent examples and thank you so much for sending them my way!

Leave a Reply

