January Challenge: Your Best Shot… Entry #13 While the Iron is Hot

Our last entry for this challenge is from Robin (the other one!)…

“I met friends at Scarborough Faire in late May. Within five minutes I
stopped for a shot, lost track of time, and never saw my friends
again – ah well, better to make images than idle chit-chat.

I spent a couple hours wandering and got a few images I liked. I was
thinking of leaving when I came upon this blacksmith shop and knew
there was something wonderful in there, with all the dark grittiness
and bright hot fire. I set continuous shooting, hoping for an image
just as the hammer struck the metal and sparks flew. I didn’t quite
get that instant. Of 17 images, this was so close, the hammer had
just bounced from the metal, but sparks were there.

ISO 200 – probably should have been at least 800 but I had no time to
fiddle with the camera
F/8 – wanting the furnace to be in focus too, but bigger would have been better
1/80th – and under exposed. That mistake worked out okay, as I
increased the exposure in post processing. It added to the dirty
gritty feel in the image.”

While the Iron is Hot (Photo by Robin W.)

While the Iron is Hot
(Photo by Robin W.)

7 thoughts on “January Challenge: Your Best Shot… Entry #13 While the Iron is Hot

  1. Congratulations on this award-winning shot! Great composition. Love the natural light coming in from the right showing the veins in his hands and arms and the textures of his clothes. It is especially nice set off by the fire in the background.

  2. Thank you ladies. This one has to be my favorite, because it’s also my winning-est image ever. It got a photo-of-the-day on CaptureDallas. Then it got first place in the Scarbrough Fair photo contest for Artisans. And after I sent this one to Fay, it got a first place in the Richardson photo contest in the Sports/Action category.

    PLus, the Scarbrough Fair win pays: I get a free ticket to 2015, and a free program with this image printed in it 🙂

  3. Wow! This is indeed a great image and worthy of all the awards.
    Thank you for sharing and the information.
    This guy looks so tough by holding the iron in a bare hands. That iron looks very hot 🙂
    Congratulations Robin and great job as always!

Leave a Reply

