January Challenge: Your Best Shot… Entry #12 Stop Bugging Me!

This will be the next to the last entry in our January challenge. I am submitting this one.

It was taken at White Rock Lake… my “happy” place! I was wandering along East Lawther looking for something to shoot near the lake but I was not one bit inspired. I finally decided to head back to the car and explore another area. On the way, there was a gully with a little water in it and some reedy things growing. As I approached for a better look, something bright and shiny caught my eye. It almost looked like the sun reflecting off of chrome but when I got closer, I realized it was actually the stripe going down the side of a tree frog. You cannot imagine my surprise! I took a few hand-held shots but I was not very steady and went back to the car and got my tripod, in hopes that the frog would still be there.

When I got back with the tripod, the frog was not only there but there was also a little cucumber beetle on the leaf. By the time I set up the tripod, the little beetle started climbing onto the frog and that is when I got this photo. I call this my “best shot” because of the element of surprise resulting in an emotional attachment to the image and also because I recognized my shortcoming in hand-holding the shot and was able to get an in-focus shot of this unexpected activity between the beetle and the frog by using my tripod.

This was shot at 400mm, ISO 250, f/ 7.1, 1/800 sec, and minus 1/3 stop compensation.

Stop Bugging Me! (Photo by Fay-la-la)

Stop Bugging Me!
(Photo by Fay-la-la)

7 thoughts on “January Challenge: Your Best Shot… Entry #12 Stop Bugging Me!

  1. Oh my gosh, that is PRICELESS. You definitely did a good job. I wish I could say that was mine LOL. Seriously though, job well done

  2. This shot fascinates me so with the frog snuggled up on that blade which appears quite vertical. Then there’s his even smaller companion. And quite an interesting background tale. Has me a bit spell-bound.

Leave a Reply

