December Challenge: Alphabetography… Entry #5 The Alphabet

This is the last of the alphabet annual challenge. For those of you who took the challenge, bravo! It was not the easiest thing to do but it certainly makes you look at things differently.

I initially had the idea to do “The Kitchen Alphabet” but soon gave up on that idea as I sat in the kitchen and was at a total block. I looked in the pantry, the refrigerator, the drawers and came up with a few things but that was proving harder than anticipated and I finally gave up on that idea. Out of total desperation, in the end I started to go through old photos looking for letters. Some are a bit of a stretch!

So the one day when I was watching the grandchildren after school, I was looking around my daughter’s house for letters. My grand-daughter Alaina asked what I was doing and I told her. Her immediate response was… “Lala! With all the things in your house, could you not find all the alphabet?” I was really feeling bad then! I told her I was really having difficulty finding the capital letter “R” and with that she struck a pose! Woohoo!! Thank you Alaina! Well done! Hahaha! Then we had fun looking for letters together.

(Photo by Fay-la-la)

(Photo by Fay-la-la)

9 thoughts on “December Challenge: Alphabetography… Entry #5 The Alphabet

  1. So, even your grand children call you Lala. 🙂

    I like your whimsey, too. I’m afraid I went about it more realistically, and lost some of that interest.

    • That is how I got the name “Lala”. My daughter wanted to know what I wanted Lucas, the first grandchild to call me. At that point he was not yet talking and had a favorite teletubby doll… the yellow one which is Lala. He would push it’s belly and it would giggle! Since I didn’t want to be called all the traditional names, I opted for Lala and it stuck!

      Then Tess began calling me Lala at work and before I knew it, some of the doctors and staff were calling me Lala. CRAZY!

  2. Lovely work Lala, these have been so fun to look at and very inspiring! Good Work as always. I think my fav is the “F”!

  3. Great collection Lala. I love the H. How did you took this? I always wanted to take a picture of a bridge this way but never got a perfect one.

    Good that you have a help from Alaina. Kids seems to be a great help as I had a help from my 5 year old niece, and we had good time.

    Love this challenge and can’t wait for the SPP challenge for this year. This time I might need a help from my doggies. LOL.

    Thanks for the creativity. It definitely makes you look at things differently.

    • Thanks Tess! The bridge was a last minute grab shot. Easier to catch a “drive-by” in focus if you are going towards it than if you are shooting out a side window and it is going past you. That requires a very fast shutterspeed not to blur it. And to be sure… I was NOT the driver!

      It is always good to have a photographic challenge. It forces us to shoot things we might otherwise not shoot and hopefuly makes us more creative as we learn to see and shoot differently.

    • Your suggestion to spell out “Crazy Women” was ingenious and Linda pulled it off so well. That day when the three of us had lunch and we were talking about the alphabet challenge, I was amazed at how quickly Linda was seeing letters all over the restaurant!

Leave a Reply

