August Challenge: Black and White… Entry #8 CWPC Clubhouse?

As you all know, I look forward to entries by Lorraine as she seems to go above and beyond what is expected and why should this challenge be any different?
After all, she is a CrAzY woman!

“I was out on Hwy 276 looking for some old or interesting subjects to shoot for this months challenge. I was just east of the town of Blackland when I saw this bright flash of light out of the corner of my eye. The sun was bright and I thought perhaps I had glanced a bit too directly towards it. In a matter of seconds, off to my side, something was spinning and coming toward the ground. I could not believe what I was seeing! My heart started racing and I broke out in a sweat. Was I really seeing what I thought I was?

I frantically got to the side of the road and grabbed my camera. I knew my camera would not lie to me about what I was seeing. This spaceship had landed in this open field. With my body trembling and my knees wobbling from fear, I approached slowly. As I got closer I saw these stairs fold down and a gate at the top very slowly swung open. Oh my…what should I do now?

It then occurred to me….just start shooting….what are you waiting for? Get the photos!!! I quickly grabbed some shots and ran back to my vehicle! I was curious to board their spaceship and would have loved to meet them and take some selfies with them, but I had no idea if they would be friendly or not. Or if they would take my camera or transport me to some unknown place! I decided to play it safe and got out of there as soon as possible. Whew!!!

Seriously, I saw this a couple of years ago. A nurse I used to work with gave me a bit of info. She mentioned about 15 years ago when she was a kid, she would often look out the window and see this as her parents drove by. She mentioned that someone was living in it and would see the lights on at night. Apparently it’s been vacant a very long time and has received some vandalism. When I saw this a while back it was really in bad shape. This time when I saw it it had been nicely painted.

Some of you local crazy women may know a lot more about this. I have read that homes similar to this called Futuro homes were produced in Finland back in the 60’s and 70’s and that they were sometimes used as ski lodges and could be moved easily and sometimes even set down by helicopter. Apparently, only about 100 were manufactured and approximately 50 exist throughout the world today. But I am not so sure that this is a Futuro home. It may have been manufactured someplace much, much further away!!”

(Cue up the extra-terrestrial music please… )

CWPC Clubhouse? (Photo by Lorraine)

CWPC Clubhouse?
(Photo by Lorraine)

18 thoughts on “August Challenge: Black and White… Entry #8 CWPC Clubhouse?

  1. This is so cool Lorraine and I loved your story to go with the photo. It would not only make a great clubhouse but also a great place to live! Fascinating stuff! So… does anyone have a spaceship to sell?

  2. Lorraine, how wonderful in monochrome, I would never have thought of that.

    I noticed last time I was by there that it had been painted. That’s a good thing for those of us who are interested in maybe sometime returning to our home planet.

  3. Robin,
    Thank you! I thought it would make a good subject for this black and white challenge. Reminded me of the old Sci-FI shows.

  4. Great subject Lorraine, and what a creative story, I almost believe it…. LOL.

    I have seen this structure, it is actually near Gina’s house.

    If you want to have a picture similar to this building, there is one along i35 near Ennis.

  5. Thoroughly enjoyable, Lorraine. And sometimes we do just have to reluctantly grab the shot and go. I for one do like to take time for analysis. Looks they left the rural life to join the rest of us in the city.

Leave a Reply

