August Challenge: Black and White… Entry #2 Coca Cola

So… this is another learning curve for me.  Since my computer died, I am now having to resort to my laptop which I probably do not use as much as I should.  My desktop computer is my go-to site as it has all my photos at a quick click.  So I have connected my external hard drive to my laptop and miraculously the photos appeared.  Whew!  Not being very techy, I am always intimidated to try something new but we are fortunate in the club to have several very tech-oriented people to call on and I immediately think of Marylin, Mary and Robin W. and I had a friend help me along the way as well.

So this photo is from Robin W. and she always has a way of teaching us something about how she processes her images and this one is no different.

Coca Cola (Photo by Robin W.)

Coca Cola
(Photo by Robin W.)

“This sign is over a long-closed restaurant in the Farmer’s Market area in downtown Dallas. I’m afraid it’s in danger now, given the on-going gentrification of the area. When converting to monochrome I used the color adjustments, trying to pull out as much contrast as I could. The red and yellow components are increased, while lowering the blues and greens.”

I sent a thank you note her way… “That really turned out beautiful Robin and a good lesson to be learned! I so much appreciate you sharing your photographic skills!  I think it makes so much more sense to have you explain how you got a photo and then to see the results!”

And her response was: “My goal is to get as good with contrast as Ansel Adams. And that’s a good thing since there’s no chance at all of achieving it and having to find another goal!” 🙂

8 thoughts on “August Challenge: Black and White… Entry #2 Coca Cola

  1. Thanks again Robin! Good job! I also learned that on wordpress I can go back and find a previous revision and post it. I thought I had published the final edit but once published I realized it was the wrong one, but I was able to go the the revision and republish it. Always a learning curve and isn’t it great to have help along the way!

  2. Wow! This is beautiful. I need to memorize how you did it…. (The red and yellow components are increased, while lowering the blues and greens…The red and yellow components are increased,while lowering the blues and greens…The red and yellow components are increased, while lowering the blues and greens….OK I got it). LOL
    Thank you for the information, I will try this.
    Question: How much did Coca Cola pay you for this?

  3. Robin,
    Wonderful submission! You picked such a great subject with all the various textures and lighting to work with! Great job with all the processing and thank you so much for all the detailed info! Excellent!!!!!!

  4. Always delighted by the extra bonus feature in the form of information that comes with a Robin image. Appreciate your stuff, Robin!

    • Okay y’all, I hope you aren’t writing my recipe down as “increase the red and yellow and desaturate the rest.” Knowing the colors in the image pointed me in the direction, but I played with everything until I found what worked. It’s not called “art” for nothing 🙂

Leave a Reply

