June Challenge: Crop Your Photo… Entry #9 Grand Opening

Our next entry is from Lorraine…

“This is the photo I submitted for the CWPC May 2013 Flower Challenge,
titled ‘Grand Opening’.

I often crop my photos to improve the composition for various reasons.
Sometimes it’s to crop something out that is distracting, and sometimes
it’s just to reposition the subject for better composition.

I sometimes struggle with getting my focal point on my camera to be just
where I want it. Although I have made some improvement in framing the
image when I take it, I still find myself often needing to crop. Thank
goodness for cropping!

When I received this challenge for cropping, the first thing that came to
my mind was this photo. I cropped this photo for several reasons. The
subject was too centered (probably because that was where my focus point
was). I also had that bright flower coming up from the bottom of the
frame and the window at the top which both needed to go. It was one of
my favorite cropping jobs that I have been able to do so far and just
wanted to resubmit this for this challenge.”

This rosebud was taken at the Rockwall County Historical Foundation Museum.

Grand Opening (Original Image) Photo by Lorraine

Grand Opening
(Original Image)
Photo by Lorraine


Grand Opening (Cropped Image) Photo by Lorraine

Grand Opening
(Cropped Image)
Photo by Lorraine

8 thoughts on “June Challenge: Crop Your Photo… Entry #9 Grand Opening

  1. What a great crop job that is! By cropping out the window and the lower blossom, your full attention is now on the rosebud. I so much like the square crop and now every little hair and prickle is evident on the sepals. Quite a dramatic transformation!

  2. Your cropped image is delightfully sharp, and the whole image is so very much more interesting than the original. Good work.

  3. Lorraine,

    Another great job.
    It’s amazing how you transformed this into a very sharp cropped image. It is even sharper than the original.
    You are so talented Lorraine.
    Great job as always.

Leave a Reply

