June Challenge: Crop Your Photo… Entry #2 “Help me please!”

This next entry is from Robin (the other one)!

When I received her image, I remembered it well from when it appeared on Capture Dallas. .. definitely one of my favorite images of all time!  It just tugs at my heart strings and I loved the simplicity of it all,  as well as the subtle colors.  I also thought she had photoshopped the words but evidently it was how she found it!  Good eye and great capture, and made even better with the cropping.  This is a most instructive entry and I do appreciate your expertise Robin.  I think we all have a lot to learn from this!

“I do try to get my images well composed in the viewfinder, but it’s
not my primary intent.  I  shoot with an assumption of at least a
little cropping in post-processing, and I’m pretty certain that well
over half my final images have had some cropping applied.  So, it was
a perplexing decision selecting a single image for this challenge.

This image was taken at f8, 1/4000 th, 400 ISO, and 270mm which is
the maximum focal length of the lens.  Camera was a D5100 which is an
aps-c sensor.  There was a hideous gas meter at the bottom
right.  And, I’m terrible about making crooked images, like this one.

Original Image (Photo by Robin W.)

Original Image
(Photo by Robin W.)

I’m cheating a bit here, also showing an intermediate image.  It has
the meter removed and has been straightened.  It was what I had in
mind when I made the image, but in post processing it didn’t say what
I wanted.  With the final image I’ve cropped all but the story I
really wanted to tell.  The doggie appears to be so sad, wanting out,
not wanting a grooming at all.  “Help me, please!”

Intermediate Image (Photo by Robin W.)

Intermediate Image
(Photo by Robin W.)

Incidentally, another reason for cropping is that, if you print on a
standard paper size and don’t want to trim or have blank space,
you’ll have to crop the long edge.  This is because your sensor long
edge is longer than any standard paper long edge.  Compare the width
of the original and intermediate images with the final one which will
fit on standard paper.  This is a consideration for possibly shooting
a bit wide, so you don’t have to eliminate critical components when
printing, or having to paint in background where there was none (yuck). ”

Final Image (Photo by Robin W.)

Final Image
(Photo by Robin W.)

9 thoughts on “June Challenge: Crop Your Photo… Entry #2 “Help me please!”

  1. Robin,
    You did an excellent job with cropping and editing this photo!!! I really love this image!! It does provoke you into thinking about what may be going through this Basset Hound’s mind. We used to have one and they sure know how to give you that sad look that you cannot refuse to cater to! Wonderful submission!!!

  2. Thanks y’all.

    I was by there another couple times over the months and have since learned that the doggie apparently lives at the groomers. At least it seems to be there usually, sitting inside or looking out the window. But, that’s the dog’s story, not mine, my story isn’t about that dog, but what I thought when I saw the image 🙂

  3. I remember thinking how I could not make a good image of this so I did not even attempt a single shot. Then I marveled at how you were able to transform the clutter and crooked lines into this clean, to-the-point, sharp, emotion-stirring, award-winning (Capture Dallas) image. Nice/effective work.

    • Thanks Rebekah. What you said reminded me of another kind of crop. In PhotoShop it’s called Perspective Crop. Most graphic editing software has something similar. I don’t use it often, and not on this image, but it’s handy when you need it. It’s especially handy shooting tall buildings from the ground. The vertical lines want to converge toward the middle of the top of the image. Perspective Crop can help make the 2D image look a little more like your perception would cause it to look when viewing the 3D scene.

      I searched around and found an image where I did use it. Two images at the link below. The one that comes up first is the original. The lines look like they would when you were standing before the house, but on a 2D screen or paper it looks a little funny. Press the right arrow to go to the second image where I did a Perspective Crop.

      http://robinjean.zenfolio.com/p776292727/h15b99cc#h15b99cc

  4. Very helpful, Robin. Never heard of perspective crop but have wondered about the converging lines on tall buildings. Thanks for the link, will check it out now.

  5. This is a wonderful image and a great fix up. I need to learn all your tricks as I could not have done this especially the right lower corner of the window. It looks so complicated.

    Great job as always Robin.

Leave a Reply

