April Challenge: Birds… Entry #11 The Emotional Lives of Animals

The decision as to what to post was a difficult one as I have taken most of my best bird photos at White Rock Lake at Sunset Bay. There is always a proliferation of pelicans, gulls, ducks, coots, cormorants, doves, pigeons and if you are lucky, some monk parkeets. It’s a fantastic place to practice bird photography, especially when people are there feeding the birds.

A little over a week ago I had the opportunity to visit Santa Clara Ranch in south Texas with some members of our nature photo club. It was a new experience for me as I had never experienced shooting from a blind, and this was not a blind that you had to hunker down in and be uncomfortable. The blinds were built into the ground so you could sit on a chair and shoot from ground level. Next to each blind was a watering hole which hopefully would attract the wildlife. Now that is my kind of shooting.

Evidently from what the photogs who had been there before said, the activity was not as much as usual but for me, I was thrilled as I got to shoot critters I have never before seen in the wild. No… we did not get to see the bobcat but it was still great fun. There were 5 blinds so a lot depended on where you were and what time of day as to what you might see.

I was also reading a book called The Emotional Lives of Animals by Marc Bekoff. This is the second of his books that I have read and I have two more to read and will probably look for a couple more after that. He is passionate about animals and… I get it! Sitting there in the blind shooting with a camera, I found it very hard to understand how anyone could shoot an animal with a gun.

So for my entry, I have chosen to post a collage of a couple birds as well as other wildlife with a quote from Marc’s book. I will be getting a print made and matting it and framing it for my grandson who loves nature so much and is learning photography.

The Emotional Lives of Animals (Photo by Fay-la-la)

The Emotional Lives of Animals
(Photo by Fay-la-la)


To read more about my adventure at the ranch: http://theinquisitiveeye.zenfolio.com/blog/2014/5/santa-clara-ranch

13 thoughts on “April Challenge: Birds… Entry #11 The Emotional Lives of Animals

  1. What great luck you had to be on that shoot, and some wonderful images in your collage. The quote is equally excellent.

  2. That was a great idea for a collage. You are so creative. Sounds like the trip was awesome. Great photos

  3. Love all of them. The idea of the collage is neat. You are so lucky to ever witness this. Love the quote too.

Leave a Reply

