From the Men’s Auxillary!

Imagine my surprise when I got an entry from John, Lynda’s husband, from across the pond!  It seems that Donna’s entry stimulated him to send these photos my way.

As some of you may know, John has been following the antics of the “crazy women” for some time now and has been most supportive.  He is also an active member in the CWPC Men’s Auxillary!   John is a retired teacher and quite the talented fella as he has done metal detecting for many years and writes fascinating articles in the Searcher Magazine about metal detecting.  And… he has a great sense of humor and enjoys photography!  So, let me share his message with you…

John Winter

John Winter

“I have neglected you and the Crazy Women this past year and I’d like to apologise as well as make amends.  As you well know I am old and decrepit, just like that other miserable git in your life, but I do get out occasionally when my carer is available and the nursing home approves.

Although I can’t metal detect any more, I am still capable of leaning up against something solid, holding a camera and taking pictures of the landscape around me.  What you see here is a couple of examples. Actually, they are shots that I bank just in case I can use them in a story later.

I like to have a focal point in my pictures and the first one is a good example.   A green bucket is placed in every field for detectorists (and crazy women in
pink tops) to dispose of any crap they might find.  

My second picture was taken at a large metal detecting rally … in fact, the largest in the UK with over a 1000 searchers. Some of them are visible in the
picture … many of them were caught in the storm that soon followed!   Fields are clearly marked. 

The third picture is one of my favourites … plenty of straw bales to lean on and a great Summer’s day…  one of the four we enjoyed this year!  

I attended a shoot of of the Hoard Hunters TV programme that was aired in 2012 and was able to take many pictures. I used to teach the guy driving ‘Mr Norris’,  the tractor.  He was being filmed cutting the grass ready for detecting.” 

(I took the liberty and put John’s photos in a collage.)

To follow John’s writing, check out his metal detecting blog: http://www.johnwinter.net/jw/

Photos by John W.

Photos by John W.

7 thoughts on “From the Men’s Auxillary!

  1. Thanks so much John for sending these photos our way! So glad you have a few sunny, warm days across the pond! I would have never thought of taking a photo of the bucket but I like how you have shot this giving more depth to the scene.

    The roadway between the fields leads our eye into the photo and what a beautiful sky! Those hay bales look enormous and a big “hello” to Mr. Norris!

    You must get “Mrs. Winter” to submit some photos now that her big sewing project making pirate attire is completed. For those who don’t know, Lynda is a very talented seamstress!

  2. Wow! Thanks John for sharing these photos. Pardon my ignorance, but I did not know that UK also bales hay. LOL.
    Love how you captured the picture with the bucket. The dirt road is just beautiful.
    Again, thanks for sharing these beautiful images.

  3. Excellent stuff, John. I read quite a bit of your writings a few weeks ago and was immensely impressed with you and your work. I’ve often thought about getting a detector and you’ve stoked those embers again to do so. Your 4 photos here are excellent and just the scenes I like to dwell on. Thank you much for your contributions!

  4. Happy New Year to all you ‘crazy ladies’ . . . and the CWPC Men’s Auxiliary!

    Fay, I still have the pirate quilt to make for Esther’s 4th birthday on the 19th of this month.
    Will do my best to join in again especially if I do treat myself to a new camera. (Have totally lost faith in the one I have at the moment.)

    • Look forward to having you join in again Lynda! How about a still life of your sewing notions in color and then in black and white for the next challenge? It would make a striking composition! Beautiful taken in window light coming in from the side on an overcast day, which I know you have a lot of!

  5. John W,
    Wonderful images!! Thanks for sharing and your interest in the crazy womens photos! I will be checking out the metal detecting blog. Sounds rather interesting! Happy New Years to you and Lynda!!!

Leave a Reply

