Christmas is Cookies!

Christmas is Cookies (Photo by rebeKah)

Christmas is Cookies
(Photo by rebeKah)

As we approach the end of the year as well as the end of the holiday season, it is only appropriate for me to share with you some of rebeKah’s photos she so kindly sent my way. (I’m late getting this posted as I was feeling a bit “under-the-weather”, so to speak.)

And not only did she send us photos but also a yummy tin of cookies along with her recipe. This sounds like a keeper loaded with dates, cherries and pecans and I will be baking a batch in the very near future!

Family Favorite Christmas (anytime) Cookie Recipe
1 Cup Butter
2 Eggs
1 1/3 Cup Brown Sugar
2 tsp. Baking Soda
3 Cups Flour
1 tsp Cinnamon
1 tsp Cloves
1 tsp Allspice
1 tsp Nutmeg
1/2 tsp Salt
1 1/2 Cups Dates
3 Tblsp Milk
4-10 oz. Maraschino Cherries
1/2 Cup Cherry Juice
3 Cups Pecans

Mix well all ingredients but fruits and nuts.
Add fruits and nuts.
Bake on greased cookie sheet 12-15 minutes at 350 degrees.
Yields more than 4 doz. (1/2 for smaller yield)

USPS Holy Family (Photo by rebeKah)

USPS Holy Family
(Photo by rebeKah)


Merry Christmas Wreath (Photo by rebeKah)

Merry Christmas Wreath
(Photo by rebeKah)


Christmas is Lights (Photo by rebeKah)

Christmas is Lights
(Photo by rebeKah)

7 thoughts on “Christmas is Cookies!

  1. I wanted to reach in the cookie tin and help myself as they definitely looked good enough to eat, but guess I can bake my own since you included the recipe. My mother loved to bake with dates, so I love them. I especially like the stamp photo. My dad was postmaster of our little town and I used to “help” him sell stamps and put up mail, until the postal inspector caught me in there one day. Ah, as you can see I’m still on holiday nostalgia overload, but I appreciate the warm and fuzzies I got from your pictures.

  2. So sorry you were not feeling your best, Fay. Hope you are 100% soon. Thanks for all your efforts, I certainly appreciate it. Linda, I enjoyed reading your bits of history and Robin, some of the things I’ve “squirreled” away end up lost. Ha! Obviously as everyone can see my food presentation is lacking compared to Fay’s! LOL Can you imagine Fay just popping the lid to the tin? Ha, ha, ha!!

  3. rebeKah,
    Nice variety of holiday photos!!! Those cookies look so delicious and love your presentation with the lid popped…….invites me to just dig in!! Great shots!!!

  4. rebeKah,
    Your cookies looks so scrumptious. I can easily eat 6 of those now. I will definitely try to make this one. Thanks for the recipe.
    Love the house with Christmas lights.

  5. rebekah~ lovely Christmas photos, thanks for sharing the recipe! I love your creativity in shooting the stamps! You really have a knack for seeing a creative shot! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

