September Challenge: Manipulating Your Photos, Entry #5… R U a Crazy Woman?

It seems that rebeKah has quite an affection for squirrels and has won several awards on Capture Dallas for her squirrel photos so it was no surprise when she sent me… more squirrels!

She sent me an e-mail and photos saying: “I’m very thankful for the informational benefit of being a member of CWPC.   I enjoyed using the Fotor editing site.   I wanted to isolate the color of the  squirrel from the background but could not figure out how to isolate/change  color.”

My return e-mail:  “You are as squirrely as they come… and that’s a compliment!!!”

This was her original photo:

R U a Crazy Woman? (Photo by rebeKah)

R U a Crazy Woman?
(Photo by rebeKah)


So… with some further instructions she managed to do “a Tess” and sent me several variations on a theme and I thought they were fun and would like to share them with you. And to better present them, I have taken the liberty of also using Fotor to put them in a collage format…
R U a Crazy Woman? (Photos by rebeKah) And the answer is "Yes!"

R U a Crazy Woman?
(Photos by rebeKah)
And the answer is “Yes!”


For those of you wanting to do some selective coloring, here are the instructions.  Unfortunately, with this program, you cannot choose different colors than are in your photo but it is still fun!

Instructions for Color Splash on Fotor (selective coloring)

Get your photo into the fotor program.  Use a full color photograph.
Hover your mouse over the symbols on the left of the screen and click on the
second one down (effects).
Click on Color Splash under the effects menu.
Click on brush.
Put your mouse over the area on the photo where you want to preserve color
and click left side of your mouse.
Adjust the size of your brush by using the slider while holding down the left
side of your mouse to make it bigger or smaller.
Start “painting” your image while holding down the left side of your mouse (it
will look like you are painting it orange).
When you let go of the mouse, the color should show through.
Change the size of the brush as need be to get into smaller areas
where you want to preserve the color.

If you go out of the lines, then click on erase and do the same thing to clean
up the edges.

Once you are satisfied, click apply and then save your image.

7 thoughts on “September Challenge: Manipulating Your Photos, Entry #5… R U a Crazy Woman?

  1. This is such fun, rebeKah… and I think I am in agreement with you, the one with the red frame is probably my favorite as it shows off his scarred face better! And yes… you are definitely a crazy woman! (And a bit squirrely too!) But, it’s all good!

  2. They’re all delightful, but I see why you did the color removal in the background, it’s very distinctive, very nice.

  3. This is so much fun rebeKah. I love the last one with B&W background. The cute squirrel’s teeth pop out distinctively good. I have not seen you personally yet…but I think you are crazy. LOL.
    Just curious if you can isolate the teeth and make it white (for esthetic purposes only, LMAO) though Lala said that you can only choose one color. Also if it is possible to add a starburst in one of the tooth. LMAO again.

    Good job rebeKah as always.

  4. rebeKah,
    I believe you have gone squirrelly on us, but I love it!! I like the variety of ways you have chosen to share with us! My favorite is the last one in which the squirrel has more color. Nice close up and I really like how he/she is looking right at you! Great job!!!

  5. RebeKah,

    How cute. The squirrel looks so inquisitive. I like all your photos but the one with the red frame is my favorite. Nice job

Leave a Reply

