August Challenge: Land of the Lilliputians… Entry #9 A Question of Peaches

Robin has pulled “a Tess” and submitted a second “little people” shot that I simply had to share! This was her e-mail to me:

“You got me started. I tried another tonight. It did not work out as well as I hoped, these things are very very hard!!! But, its not terrible, so I’m showing and telling.

I took a sky shot months ago and saved it for stock. I used that, put it in PS. It was horizontal. I put it on the top half of an 8.5×11 image and painted in light green on the bottom half, feathering up into the sky. I printed it on card stock, gently bent it at the horizon – not folded, bent and propped it up with a bottle of Windex I use for cleaning the glass of picture frames.

The slice of peach I had to pin down with a tooth pick, both to keep it in place and to keep the rest of the half from caving in on the people.
The guy inspecting it, I stuck his little feet into the skin of the peach. I bought something called Tackey at Hobby Lobby today and used that to stick the other little people’s feet and butts down, but unfortunately if you know what you’re looking for you can see it. These things are so TINY!!! So difficult.

The colors were good on the card stock, but just HORRIBLE in the photos. I PS’d the dickens out of them to get anything that resembled sky, to the detriment of the rest of the image I think. Maybe if I’d printed the backdrop on photo paper, but then it would have been glossy and that wouldn’t have worked either.

I dunno, this could become a special segment of photography if one were to allow it to do so, as some have.
Not me, but it’s fun to play with a few times. I’m a proud dilettante.

I did, of course, eat the peach!” 🙂

And the title… “”A Question of Peaches”
In a vague drug induced way it reminds me of the worn out back side of my Moody Blues “A Question of Balance” album cover.

I wrote back…
“You never cease to amaze me!!! What a lot of work and to have the forethought to get the background as you did! I actually thought the colors were superb as it looks a bit old-timey, if you know what I mean. The sky and the background look so retro in some way. The guys on the pit were nothing short of genius and the shadows make it even better! The more I looked, the more I saw and your creativity came screaming through!!
Seriously… this is the coolest shot!
You definitely need to do more of this kind of thing.”

And yes… you may find some more of Robin’s “little people” if you visit her new website at:
http://robinjean.zenfolio.com/p481050459
Be sure to click on this photo to see a larger image!

A Question of Peaches (Photo by Robin W.)

A Question of Peaches
(Photo by Robin W.)

6 thoughts on “August Challenge: Land of the Lilliputians… Entry #9 A Question of Peaches

  1. Robin W.,

    Are you just the most talented crazy woman? This is fabulous. I love every but of it.

    Thanks for pulling a “Tess” for I am not the only culprit. LOL.

  2. Ha! Well, I didn’t intend it as an entry, I was just sharing the minor obsession she got me started on.

    Regardless, there seems to be a precedent being set.

    • Thank you, Debbie. Actually I browsed through the produce department looking for ideas 🙂 I have a tomato I’m trying to work with.

  3. They seem to be trying to figure out their peach of a predicament of how to make it off Lilliput. Your photo has me invested in their story! Nice.

Leave a Reply

