August Challenge: Land of the Lilliputians… Entry #6 Life Can Be Strange

This challenge has taken me by surprise on more than one occasion and so it was when I received Lorraine’s e-mail. I had not heard from her in a bit and nothing seemed out of order as I was reading about her old truck needing to go to the garage. Oh… gullible me! Once again, I am duped by a CrAzY woman and did not realize it until I read more of her e-mail.

“I am sorry I haven’t been in touch much lately but I have been dealing with some issues with my truck. It is 18 years old and has been a good truck and continues to be so but needed some minor repairs. I have been using the same repair shop for years and they seem to do a good job. I have noticed however that they take an awful long time when they work on it. Even when doing just simple routine maintenance, it seems to take them forever! I have never complained however as they seem to do really good work.

The other day I took the truck in for some real simple work. I kept being told that it would just be a little bit longer. After waiting for almost seven hours, I was told it was still being worked on. At this point, I became very concerned and decided to wander back to the garage area.

As I was approaching my truck, I could hear what sounded like a lot of little giggles and some tapping like sounds from near where the truck was parked with the hood propped up. I thought that maybe the mechanics had just turned on my radio while they were working on it. As I walked closer I saw what looked like some very strange looking colorful tools or truck parts. I could see more details as I got closer and I soon realized that I had entered into a little playground developed right on top of my engine! I could not believe what I was seeing!!

I stood a long time to observe and take it all in. It was truly amazing!! Michelangelo, who seemed to be the clown in this little mechanic group, was doing tricks on a hoop that he had made out of a hose and suspended from the hood by jabbing a screw driver in a slot. Below him, two of the others were playing on a teeter-totter they had made using a wrench and a socket. This explains the tapping sound I had heard. The one on the right side of the teeter-totter was trying to spray some goop through the hoop and at the others. He happened to see me and gave me a big grin as if to say “look at me and what I can do!” On the left, I noticed how one of them was grinning from ear to ear as he threw his hands up in the air and slid down the slide they had set up.

I came to find out that the shop has always hired teenagers to work as mechanics. I was reassured that even with the horseplay slowing them down, they do really great work. And like I said, I have always been pleased with the work done on my truck.

Knowing that you probably wouldn’t believe me if I just told you about this, I attached a picture as proof!!!!

Now that the truck is running good, I should be able to get back to photography.”

Life Can Be Strange (Photo by Lorraine)

Life Can Be Strange
(Photo by Lorraine)

10 thoughts on “August Challenge: Land of the Lilliputians… Entry #6 Life Can Be Strange

  1. Lorraine… what can I say? Your imagination is rampant and I am way too gullible! I thought it was a serious e-mail until I read on. What a wonderful playful image and story to go with it. I love how these challenges have brought out the creativity in you crazy women!

    • Fay,
      I guess you should never let your guard down when you are dealing with crazy women! Thank you for the compliments. I really appreciate it!

  2. Your guys/turtles are well placed and I’m really liking what you’ve created, both photo and story! Just great! What did you do for lighting?

    • rebeKah,
      Thank you!! I parked the truck under our carport with natural lighting coming from one side and a privacy fence blocking light from the other side. I put a 90 watt flood lamp on a stand. I positioned it close to spotlight the playground.

  3. Lorraine,
    I did not know that you are a script writer too.
    The story is so hilarious and the image is perfect. You are so creative.
    No doubt, you are the only true certified crazy.
    Great job as always!

    • Tess,
      Thank you so much for your very nice comments! I enjoy writing. Sometimes the juices flow and other times I have a mental block. Now, as far as me being the only true certified crazy…..it takes one to know one! (Ha Ha) Thanks again!

  4. I can imagine your surprise, I doubt I would have had the presence of mind to snap an image, much less such a nice one. Very good catch.

    I’m starting to wonder what’s going on in my garage, they’re pretty slow too…

Leave a Reply

