July Challenge: A Portrait of You… Entry #9 Fay/Lala

This will be the next to the last entry for this challenge and I present you with my own portrait.

I found this challenge to be just that… a challenge in so many ways. I made a list of the things that make me who I am. Uh oh… way too many choices so I pare the list down to the quirky things that make me who I am. Still a bit too many but decided I would cram them all in. This was not necessarily the wisest choice but then again, perhaps that too says something about who I am.

I shot my portrait three times and still was not satisfied but said… it will do. Hmmmm… bad attitude. Need to hang around Lorraine more! Wish I had used her lighting set up!

I started with a piece of black foam core for my background. The background color has significance. You see, my dog and I dress in the color black much of the time. Actually my little pug Mollie Sue always wears black and sometimes I will wear an accent color.

The computer key board says so much about where I spend my time in retirement connecting with friends as well as with my photography. The book about the CWPC is in honor of all you crazy women who have kept me laughing in my retirement… a new beginning to my life.

My day begins with toast in one form or another and I do love ginger jam on my toast. And what is life without cheese… especially “stinky” cheese! And then there are the lime-a-ritas… noooooo… not for breakfast!!! The plate and decorative knife represent my vast collection of table top accessories that I am now using in my quest to improve my food photography and styling.

And what was I thinking putting black on black? Much too difficult to shoot but the gorilla mask represents my love for doing surprise “Gorilla-Grams” for birthdays.

The stethoscope represents my 45 years as a critical care nurse and those years definitely made me who I am today in so many ways.

The obituary column and scissors is all about my collection of obituaries that I have gathered over the years. I have 18 books and more to be logged in. Some will bring you to tears, some are funny, and most will teach you about life and what is truly important in life… like cherishing the here and now. And isn’t that what we do as photographers. Living in the moment!
See… it’s all making sense!

And then there is “the hand”. That’s Lucy’s hand! How could I ever do my portrait without including Lucy? For those who do not know, she is my mannequin who I have been taking out to meet and greet people in the Dallas metroplex. She is such a fun companion. Too bad she broke her wrist feeding the ducks and geese at White Rock Lake!

And on her wrist are my two favorite silver bracelets that I wear every day of my life… grapes on one and barbed wire for the other.
The rat in the trap represents my collection of rubber rats. Don’t even ask!
I have no idea why… it just happened. See… I told you I was crazy!

My license plate is at the bottom of the photo. “Lala”… that’s what my grandchildren call me as well as some of you and some of the doctors at the hospital… thanks a lot Tess! Everyone sees me coming down the road in the “lalamobile” sporting a bunch of my favorite bumperstickers. Simply my way of speaking out after 45 years of not doing so in honor and respect to my patients and their families. It was the right thing to do professionally. But please know, I am non-confrontational and believe we all have a vote and we all have the right to believe as we choose… and all I ask is the same respect in return for my respect of you.

Top right corner are Barnum and Mollie Sue, the pugs. What a funny pair they are. Barnum is blind and deaf in his old age. Mollie Sue is my best friend.

And would you believe in the first shot of my portrait, I forgot to include a camera? Pretty dumb of me! So that is my first digital camera, the Canon Rebel which changed my relationship to photography and made it a focal point in my life when I could share photos around the world, get feedback about my photography and meet new friends all at the same time. Powerful!

And next to my camera is a little ringed rock that I carry with me each time I go out to shoot. It was given to me years ago by a photographer friend who said it would bring good luck. Someday, I would like to pass this on to a favorite photographer.

Portrait of Fay/Lala (Photo by Fay)

Portrait of Fay/Lala
(Photo by Fay)