July Challenge: A Portrait of You… Entry #3 Linda, “Simply Me”

Linda has taken a very different direction in this challenge and I do believe her love of writing and writing with emotions and deep feelings attached is most evident. I am pleased that this challenge is making you think and perhaps taking meaningful photos that you might not have otherwise taken.

“Determined to submit to this difficult challenge, I devised an elaborate plan to create a collage of everything I am—wife, mother, grandma, gardener, poet, etc., etc., etc., then realized that was just too much.

Question: Who Am I?
Answer: Simply Me, first and foremost my mother’s daughter.

Of all the people I love and who love me in return, she is the one most similar to me. She has been gone for over 19 years and I’ve missed her every minute of every day, so this picture is my homage to Mother, who shaped me into the person I am, although she must have despaired at times.

Of all the things I love to do, I love gardening most of all. It is the one thing I’m finding more and more difficult to do as I grow older. My mother loved gardening and growing beautiful flowers, which she was able to do almost up to the time of her death. When she died, I took this hat off the wall of her enclosed back porch, and I cherish my memories of her wearing it, back bent, hands in the soil, the way I do now.”

Simply Me (Photo by Linda)

Simply Me
(Photo by Linda)

10 thoughts on “July Challenge: A Portrait of You… Entry #3 Linda, “Simply Me”

  1. Linda,
    This is “Simply Beautiful”. I love the sentiment that comes with image. What a beautiful tribute to your mother. Thank you for sharing, it made me sentimental, just like you I lost my father 18 years ago and I miss him everyday.
    Beautiful Linda.

    • Agreed, Donna. I’m now wishing I’d have thought outside the box. I got caught up – in the box…

  2. Linda,
    What a very nice tribute to your mother. You have expressed yourself and what is important to you so well! You chose to use one item in your self portrait and this one item says so much and has so much meaning! Well done!!!

Leave a Reply

