Super Moon 2013

It seems there has been a lot of hype over the “super moon” on June 22-23, 2013 and quite frankly, I do think it is a lot of hype, but nonetheless, it is a good reason to go out and try to shoot it! Lorraine has gotten a wonderful moon shot previously which I will also post and Merrie has done well too in the past but wanted to try again, but “yours truly” has up until now only gotten a non-descript speck in the sky with no detail, so this time I was determined to do better.

To read about my quest for a proper moon shot, please refer to my personal photo blog:
http://theinquisitiveeye.zenfolio.com/blog

I will repost the photos here to share.

Basically, I think we forget that the moon is actually very bright, after all, it is reflecting the sun, but when you point the camera to a large expanse of dark sky, your camera exposure meter misreads the situation and tries to make the black a medium tone of gray; thereby, blowing out any details in the moon, thus, ruining the shot. And unless you are shooting through a telescope, your moon is not going to look like much unless you use the longest lens you have, stabilize it on a tripod, shoot in manual exposure setting your ISO 100-200, shutterspeed about 1/125 and an F-stop of 11-14. These are just beginning settings and you can veer away from this as necessary. And then… you will still need to crop your image to get a sizable moon.

And when you try to include something else in your photo, that is another issue unto itself. I was simply trying to get a shot of the moon that showed some detail with relative sharpness.

I took many shots and they all looked about the same, so I chose one and paired it with this quote that I very much like.

Super Moon 2013 (Photo by Fay/Lala)

Super Moon 2013
(Photo by Fay/Lala)


To my surprise, this one did win Photo of the Day on Capture Dallas.

By the way, if you click on any of the photos on the blog, you can see a larger version.

Now this is a moon shot that Lorraine got back in December, and I think it was her first attempt!! Great job, Lorraine!
Her settings were: ISO 125, 300mm, F-11, 1/125 sec. on manual.

Full Moon in December 2012 (Photo by Lorraine)

Full Moon in December 2012
(Photo by Lorraine)


I got an e-mail from Merrie asking about how best to shoot the moon and I shared my starting settings with her advising her to shoot in manual and on a tripod, and this is what she got.
From right clicking on her e-mailed photo and checking properties and then “detailed”, I can tell you that she was shooting with an ISO 125, at 300mm, F-11 and a shutter speed of 1/125 sec.
Merrie's Moon (Photo by Merrie)

Merrie’s Moon
(Photo by Merrie)


This is the cropped image that I did in Lightroom, but keep in mind, it was cropped from a resized image, not the full resolution image.
Merrie's Moon Cropped (Photo by Merrie)

Merrie’s Moon Cropped
(Photo by Merrie)


Now I pulled this cropped image back into Lightroom and gave it a little more brightness, clarity and contrast and this was the adjusted image.
Merrie's Edited Moon

Merrie’s Edited Moon


Vickie also sent me a moon and I will include it here. Interestingly enough, I was unable to get her shooting data when I right clicked. If anyone knows why… can you help me out. Can this be turned off in the camera?
Vickie's Moon (Photo by Vickie)

Vickie’s Moon
(Photo by Vickie)


And imagine my thrill of also getting one from Lily!
It was so good to hear from her again and let me share her image.
Edited Super Moon (Photo by Lily)

Edited Super Moon
(Photo by Lily)


Now I am assuming that this has been edited because on her image I did see about 5 “edits” written and we know that Lily does so well with photoshop, and I am hoping she can answer a question that was posed to me.

Vickie had asked how she could get her moon “yellow”. Well, the moon I was seeing was not yellow and had very little color at all. And Lily’s moon has a lot of sepia like toning. So Lily… can you share with us what you did to get this image so that we all may learn. I was also not able to pull up your settings and maybe you might help with that question too! And as you can see, we were all shooting the same moon and yet, they do all look a bit different.

And now for my rendition of a “Super Moon”…

Super Moon Rising at Lake Ray Hubbard (Photo by Fay/Lala)

Super Moon Rising at Lake Ray Hubbard
(Photo by Fay/Lala)


Please stay tuned as I will be posting an hysterical exchange with Robin… you know, “the other Robin” about her moon shot!!

10 thoughts on “Super Moon 2013

  1. Very nice ladies! All your perigees are certainly better than mine. Since I do not have the necessary lens my shots included stuff here on earth which makes the moon look like a glaring marble with no color. I really like Fay’s rendition at the lake.

  2. I’m sure this is not an original thought, but did anyone else notice how the moon looks like a cantaloupe? Look at the lower right near the center for the “navel” and then you can see faint lines going out from there and around just as there are on a cantaloupe. Thanks to you gals with nice closeups of the Super Moon for letting me see this delicious looking moon.

Leave a Reply

