More Raptors…

We got an early start to shoot the raptors as Photo Day started about 7AM and we could shoot until 11AM. Though I don’t particularly like getting up and out that early, I do like getting done in time for lunch! There was a slight threat of rain and the skies were overcast but otherwise quite pleasant. Tess and Donna wore their boots thinking they might ward off the chiggers and I guess it was a good thing as some of the areas were muddy from a previous rain.

I do hope more of you will join us at the Blackland Prairie Raptor Center next year to shoot the raptors. It is a great opportunity to get close to these birds! So let me share a few of my favorite photos with you.

Eastern Screech Owl (Photo by Fay/Lala)

Eastern Screech Owl
(Photo by Fay/Lala)


Great Horned Owl (Photo by Fay/Lala)

Great Horned Owl
(Photo by Fay/Lala)


Great Horned Owl (Photo by Fay/Lala)

Great Horned Owl
(Photo by Fay/Lala)


Common Barn Owl (Photo by Fay/Lala)

Common Barn Owl
(Photo by Fay/Lala)


Red Tailed Hawk (Photo by Fay/Lala)

Red Tailed Hawk
(Photo by Fay/Lala)


Red Tailed Hawk with a Spritz of Water (Photo by Fay/Lala)

Red Tailed Hawk with a Spritz of Water
(Photo by Fay/Lala)


And not only did we get to shoot raptors but there were also some wildflowers in bloom!
Tess and Donna Shooting the Wildflowers (Photo by Fay/Lala)

Tess and Donna Shooting the Wildflowers
(Photo by Fay/Lala)


Following our photo shoot my friend Mary from Capture Dallas joined us for lunch at the Cheesecake Factory. Mary belongs to the Heard Nature Photography Club and primarily shoots nature photos that are absolutely beautiful. To see some of her photos go to:
http://www.capturedallas.com/users/mbbin2
The Crazies Meet Another Crazy Woman (Photo by Fay/Lala)

The Crazies Meet Another Crazy Woman (Donna, Tess, and Mary)
(Photo by Fay/Lala)

17 thoughts on “More Raptors…

  1. That Common Barn Owl is my favorite and they are all great. Man do I wish I could still squat like that. The back of my knees feel too stressed, possibly fluid retention.

  2. These are all beautiful Lala. I personally love the Red Tailed Hawk. I wanted to bring him home. And that spritz of water picture is so adorable and too tack-sharp. Raptors is a perfect place to take photos of wildlife as it is next to impossible to take a good picture of them in the real wildlife settings.
    Thanks for sharing these beautiful pictures.

  3. Y’all got some beautiful images from that morning. I wasn’t aware of it before. Perhaps I can join you next year.

  4. Fay,
    Really wonderful images of these great raptors! I especially like the “Great Horned Owl” and how it is posed on the tree. I love how you framed it with softly blurring the background and showing the tree limbs that kinda frame this wonderful bird! Those very sharp and intense eyes blended with the beautiful feathers is striking! Sounds like a very nice place with wonderful opportunities for some great photos! I have really enjoyed looking at all the great images that the crazy women have captured so nicely!!!

  5. Great pictures. I especially liked the red tail hawk. I hope available next year. Really want to join y’all next time

  6. These are all beautiful, photos! I love the one of the Great Horned Owl with the wings spread out! Nice catch!! The one’s of the Crazies in action are fun too! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Fay, Tess and Donna,
    Wow! What wonderful photos you all got of the Raptors! They are such beautiful creatures and you captured them so well! I may have to print some for my wall (with your permission of course). I’m glad I get to see them up close without having to take the chance of being exposed to chiggers!!!

Leave a Reply

