May Challenge: April Showers Bring May Flowers… Entry #8 Milk Thistle Flowerheads and Friend

I can’t tell you how much fun I have receiving your entries for the challenge. I look forward to each one along with your comments.

RebeKah gave me a giggle with her entry. She actually tried to pull a “Tess” and sent me several flowers. OK… so was I to pick one or what? BTW… they were all excellent. And none of them had titles so I sent her an e-mail back asking her which she wanted to use and a title and this is what I got back…

“Good grief. If I can’t follow directions I should be disqualified!
I’ll pick the “Milk Thistle Flowerheads and Friend” (3 thistles with bee). Since these Milk Thistles are plenteous at this time, I decided to look for some to shoot and saw these in a field behind our local Walmart. The bees were active and I was so entertained I shot for over an hour and was rewarded by quite a number of differing shots that I like.”

Whew! Thank you rebeKah for not making poor Lala choose!
And no… you will not be disqualified!

Now this is the great thing about photography. You do not need to go someplace exotic to shoot to get a good photo. Look at rebeKah. She went to her local Walmart, of all places, and found something beautiful to shoot. And rather than taking one or two shots, she took a bunch and came home with a lot of keepers. She is persistent and knows that maybe a different angle will give her a better viewpoint.

And let me tell you something else about rebeKah… the girl has a great eye! She has won numerous awards on Capture Dallas. She posts interesting and unique photos and she does it all with a point and shoot camera!!! So for all of you out there who think you have to have the latest and greatest and most expensive equipment… think again! She knows her camera and she has a vision when she shoots.
To understand what I am talking about… check out her photo on Capture Dallas. This is one of my favorites and it was chosen as Photo of the Day!
http://www.capturedallas.com/photos/1019753/in/profile

Milk Thistle Flowerheads and Friend (Photo by rebeKah)

Milk Thistle Flowerheads and Friend
(Photo by rebeKah)

16 thoughts on “May Challenge: April Showers Bring May Flowers… Entry #8 Milk Thistle Flowerheads and Friend

  1. Good job rebeKah!
    Shooting the bees as they buzz around the flowers is definitely fun and entertaining as you have said. Thistles are fascinating subjects and I like how you have captured your main thistle flower with the bee hovering beside it and also included the other two flowers.

    • Thanks, Robin. I had visions of a stinging image but the bees just seemed to ignore me and I was glad because I had to get close and it made for a more enjoyable experience.

  2. rebeKah,
    This picture proves that no matter what camera gadget you use, if you you are a photo artist you can produce a stunning picture like this. Your talent is impressive.

    ….and Lala, who is that “Tess” that you are talking about. I think it was not me, I’m innocent. LMAO.

      • Innocent – [in-uh-suhnt]
        – Adjective
        – not involving evil intent or motive.
        I think that’s me Lala. LOL.

    • Hey, thanks, Tess, my idiot temperature is a little lower now that I know I’m not the only one not to have followed directions! LOL Yes, we can all use what we have and find ways to make it happen. Although it might be easier with other tools there can be positives from using what’s already available. I have learned many lessons and enjoyed some invented games with my “limited” hardware. I am enjoying the journey with CWPC. Thank you for your generous comments.

  3. Nice shot rebeKah! The bee actually looks like it is posing!
    I like how the purple pops on the green background!

  4. RebeKah,
    I really love how you seek out and find interesting things in such ordinary places that often can get overlooked! Your thistle is really nice! I like the sharpness and the contrasting background! The bee seems to enjoying it as well! Very well done!!!

  5. Rebekah, i love how you chose my favorite color! How did you know?
    But seriously, this is a great shot with getting both the flower and the bee in focus.

Leave a Reply

