May Challenge: April Showers Bring May Flowers… Entry #5 Merrie’s Hibiscus

I was thrilled to get an entry from Merrie for this challenge, but I was surprised it was not a purple flower as all of us who know her, know how much she loves the color purple!

“Here is a picture I took at the Dallas Arboretum the day I went with you crazy women. I chose this one as it is a hibiscus, and having lived in Florida for 21 years, I saw a lot of them. Also, this was my very first attempt at taking a close-up shot of a flower.”

Merrie's Hibiscus (Photo by Merrie)

Merrie’s Hibiscus
(Photo by Merrie)

8 thoughts on “May Challenge: April Showers Bring May Flowers… Entry #5 Merrie’s Hibiscus

  1. Merrie… The hibiscus is such a lovely tropical flower and you have chosen a beautiful blossom to photograph. The bright pink color stands out against the soft dark background and I love how the stamen casts a shadow on the petal.

  2. First attempt at a close-up of a flower? Wow, you’re a very quick learner, it’s wonderful.

  3. Merrie,
    Nice close up! I love how you shot right into the flower giving a great view of the deeper pink in the very center which is a nice contrast with the brighter pink of the petals. Good job!

  4. OH Merrie, I’m so proud of you!! Glad to see you entered a photo and it’s a beauty!!
    I love how the sun is shining off the petals!

Leave a Reply

