May Challenge: April Showers Bring May Flowers… Entry #2 Bluebonnets

There is something magical about blue in the garden and how lucky we are to live where the state flower is bluebonnets. We anticipate their return each spring obsessing over whether or not they will be as beautiful and plentiful as the year before or whether the drought will be responsible for a lackluster show.

Each spring we take the children, the grandchildren and our pets and photograph them in the bluebonnets. Next year, I think we will head over to Kristen’s place! It appears that Kristen has a green thumb as well as the ideal place for bluebonnets to proliferate…

“This picture was taken in my front yard. I planted the bluebonnets about 6 yrs ago. It was originally three plants and now it covers the whole area!”

A Bumper Crop of Bluebonnets (Photo by Kristen J.)

Bluebonnets
(Photo by Kristen J.)

8 thoughts on “May Challenge: April Showers Bring May Flowers… Entry #2 Bluebonnets

  1. Wow Kristen, this is beautiful. I really wanted to plant some bluebonnets but don’t have the chance to do it. Yuo definitely have the green thumb. Thank you for your submission and the tips how to plant them. Did you plant them from seeds or it’s already a small plant?

    Great job.

  2. I love bluebonnets in their prime, like that. It’s an excellent image.

    I’ve often thought I should put some in my back lawn, but never got around to even looking in to what’s involved. Beside a wonderful spring view and fragrance, I’d have an excuse for postponing mowing.

  3. This is an excellent shot, I love it! Bold and Bright!
    I missed the bluebonnets this year, I wanted to shoot them but they have all been mowed down! 😦

Leave a Reply

