May Challenge: April Showers Bring May Flowers… Entry #1 Summer’s Gold Delight

The challenge I have given you for this month is…
April Showers Bring May Flowers.

The flowers have been quite beautiful this year… both cultivated as well as wildflowers, and I felt that this challenge would be relatively easy as there seem to be flowers everywhere you look… even in strip malls in planters as well as wildflowers at the edge of the roads. It just takes a few minutes to grab your camera and see what you can find.

We will begin this challenge with a photo from Linda, our poet in residence and she has treated us to her creativity with both her writing as well as her photography. Linda… it is a pleasure having you in the club!

And this is what she says:
“This was taken in my back yard awhile back. I let many of these wild sunflowers grow each year. If you look closely at this picture, you can see that a bee has stopped by for lunch. In the fall, the birds come to feast on the seeds. I am an avid gardener, buying and planting many varieties of plants each year, but these sunflowers do their own thing without any intervention on my part.”

Summer's Gold Delight (Photo by Linda)

Summer’s Gold Delight
(Photo by Linda)

9 thoughts on “May Challenge: April Showers Bring May Flowers… Entry #1 Summer’s Gold Delight

  1. Linda… The photo is so bright and cheerful and the bee makes it that much better, but when paired with your poetry… it is even better!

    Beautifully photographed, beautifully written and an excellent message!

  2. Linda,

    This is delightful indeed. I love the vibrant colors. Your talent as a poet and a photographer is beautifully united into one great asset. Thank for sharing. You always do a good job.

  3. Linda,
    I love sunflowers! Yes, they do warm your heart! I can’t help but smile when I see these natural beauties! Great capture of the bee on it getting a snack! I like how you framed this with the face of the sunflower facing right at you! Nice poetry. Nice shot!

  4. Wow what great colors! The blue sky is such a great back drop for the beautiful sunflower! The elements of interest in this photo make a great entry! Nice job Linda!

    • Marilyn… I was just going through some comments that have been made on this blog and clicked on your name to see where it would take me. It took me on a fascinating journey to your blog site. For those of you who return to these comments, do check out Marilyn’s blog. Her words will touch your heart and there is also poetry on the site by Linda!

  5. Linda, Love this photo! I love sunflowers, they just want to make me happy. Your shot of the bee and poem to go with the flower makes it even more beautiful. Thanks for sharing your talent with us!

Leave a Reply

