Shoot and compare…

Thought I would share with you a project I am doing for the month of April. Those of you who know me, know that I have a bit of a love affair with food and have been trying to improve my food photography. I stumbled upon a food blog some time ago that I have been following: Learn Food Photography and Styling by Neel. When I saw that he was having a food challenge for the month of April to improve our food photography, I jumped on it. He was accepting only a limited number of active participants and we would receive a food challenge daily to shoot. I did not anticipate the time involved to complete the assignments. He might say it would take 15 minutes or 30 minutes and I would take a couple hours… or more!

We had to choose two foods that we would shoot for the month. I chose tomatoes and cheese. The day we went to the arboretum, I needed the tomatoes to shoot for that day so I sent my husband to the store to pick up some red tomatoes with stems attached and cherry tomatoes. Being the fussy shopper that he is, he hit 4 stores and came home with a glut of tomatoes, being afraid they might not meet my expectations. As a result, we have been eating tomatoes every day since. Who knew photography could dictate your eating habits?

We have been shooting our chosen food from different angles, different light, different backgrounds, and it has been an interesting challenge and I will share with you several things that I submitted. I found it easier to put the photos in a collage using photoshop as the site does not seem to present the photos very well without going to another screen which I find a bit bothersome and it is nice to see all the photos together for comparison.

This first shot was to take a food photo in different kinds of light.
So this is “A Light Lunch” (pun intended!)

A Light Lunch (Photo by Fay/Lala)

A Light Lunch
(Photo by Fay/Lala)

This next shot was to show the differences when you alter the white balance in your camera. If you are shooting in jpeg, you might want to do this. For instance if you are shooting indoors in tungsten light, set your white balance to tungsten and by doing that it will correct the color (remove much of the yellow cast) however if you have it on tungsten and you shoot in daylight, you can see that it will give you a funky color like it shows here. I normally shoot in RAW and keep my camera set on AWB (auto white balance) and if a color needs to be tweaked, I can do it in Lightroom.

White Balance (Photo by Fay/Lala)

White Balance
(Photo by Fay/Lala)


This last photo I will share with you is to show the same general subject but on different backgrounds. He said to sit down and take 10 minutes to look around for possible backgrounds you can use for your food. So I sat in the kitchen and was surprised at what I came up with that I probably never would have thought of using before.
Choose Different Backgrounds (Photo by Fay/Lala)

Choose Different Backgrounds
(Photo by Fay/Lala)

Learn Food Photography and Styling: http://www.learnfoodphotography.com/
This is also listed on the right side of this blog under Favorite Photo Sites.

7 thoughts on “Shoot and compare…

  1. Lala,

    These are just beautiful beyond words. I am so happy that you found a true hobby that you love. Thank you for sharing your talent to us. I will treasure it for life.

  2. Tomatoes are good for health. So having them forcefully is not that bad. 😉

    I find some really wonderful compositions in the tomatoes shots with varying backgrounds. Also do learn using a MANUAL WB for your camera. I to used to shoot RAW but adjusting in RAW can be tricky at times if there is more than one light source of different colour temperature.

    If you use Canon, I had written about setting a CUSTOM MANUAL WB on my blog : http://shuttertux.wordpress.com/2012/04/28/setting-custom-white-balance-in-canon-eos-dslrs/

    • Excellent information Gaurav! Being intimidated by technology, I never knew how to do that or why you would want to do that! I encourage all you crazy women to follow Gaurav’s blog. He has lots of valuable info to share!

      I “met” Gaurav through the food challenge and he aspires to be a food photographer and I look forward to following his photographic career! Thanks so much for sharing this with the crazy women!

  3. These are lovely Fay! This makes me dream of the day I have more time for photography! Thanks for the monthly challenge, it gives us the same experience in a busy girls schedule!

Leave a Reply

