March Challenge: Silhouettes… Entry#10 Windsurf Bay Sunrise

I must tell you a bit of a story about how I came to meet Marylin before I post her entry.

You know, retirement is a funny thing. No longer do you have the same social contacts that you had at work on a several-times-a-week basis. And for those of you who know me… you know how I love to strike up a conversation with strangers. Maybe that comes from so many years of nursing… after all, we do that everyday in our work. And quite frankly, I am fascinated by people.

So this one particularly cold wintry day, I just wanted so badly to go out and shoot something and headed to the lake. The wind was whipping around and it was even colder there. Almost no one was out that day. I did find something to shoot that was unexpected… and isn’t that the great thing about photography. You can go to the same place time and time again and find something new to shoot.

Mushroom Cloud (Photo by Lala)

Mushroom Cloud
(Photo by Lala)

It seems there was a huge fire with smoke billowing into the sky from across the lake. I had no idea what it was but took a couple shots. My fingers were numb from the cold and I headed back to the car, but on the way I ran into some crazy woman getting out of her car, WITH A CAMERA, and was also about to shoot the fire across the lake. Now seriously, what are the chances of this happening?  So, of course, I had to find out more. Perhaps she knew what was happening.

But to my surprise, she was from Florida and visiting family nearby.  A conversation ensued and we talked about photography, and then the “crazy women” came into the conversation. She confessed to me she was crazy, enjoyed photography, would soon be retiring and might like to join. And the rest is history.

To meet Marylin (and yes, that is how she spells her name), check out the left side of the blog.  Scroll down until you come to her bio and you will realize that she is indeed a crazy woman as well as a techy woman.  If you have any techy questions… please ask Marylin!
So nice having you join us Marylin and look forward to getting to know you better!

This is Marylin’s first entry to the blog and needless to say, I was thrilled to get it.  She said…

” I was at Windsurf Bay Park with my sister to see the sun come up and to celebrate the New Mayan Calendar when I took this photo.”

Windsurf Bay Park Sunrise (Photo by Marylin)

Windsurf Bay Park Sunrise
(Photo by Marylin)

7 thoughts on “March Challenge: Silhouettes… Entry#10 Windsurf Bay Sunrise

  1. Marylin…
    I am so pleased to have you join the crazies and I am hoping that someday you will play your crystal bowls for us.

    I do love your sunrise (I don’t see many of them anymore) and particularly like how you have caught the sun “catching fire” to the bit of land in the foreground to the right of the silhouette. Excellent timing to catch that.

    Knowing that you like to travel I thought perhaps that this was taken in some exotic locale and then find out (I think) that this is a part of Lake Ray Hubbard. Is that true?

    Thanks for your entry and looking forward to fun times together!

    • Yes! Is is part of Lake Ray Hubbard. It was December 21, 2012 and we were receiving the sunrise of the Mayan Calendar’s New Year. I loved the fact that the birds were flying around as the sun was coming up.
      I am really happy to have found another crazy woman in the park that very COLD Christmas Day!
      I am looking forward to meeting the other crazy women in the club
      and learning more about photography…in a crazy way 🙂
      Marylin

  2. Marylin,
    Very beautiful background! Love the sun and its reflection across the water. I also like how you captured the group of birds! Very nice details!! Welcome to the CWPC!!!!

  3. Marylin,
    Just like RebeKah, I wonder how Mayans celebrate their new year. One thing for sure, I was frustrated that their prediction that world will end that day did not came through. My bills would have been fully paid. LOL.

    Very nice image. I love the soft explosion of sunrise.

    Welcome to the club, can’t wait to meet you in person.

  4. Welcome to CWPC!
    Great first entry!
    I have often been driving to work and thought I should get up more often for the sunrise!
    Thanks for including the background story Fay, great read!!

  5. I also would like to welcome you to CWPC. That is a great shot and like Donna when I have been driving across the lake I wish I would have time to stop and take pictures early in the morning. I’m very intrigued by sunrises and sunsets. Fay, thanks for your story. Never know what we may find when we are out and about. Great photos

Leave a Reply

