March challenge: Silhouettes… Entry #6 Fire Under the Railroad Bridge

As we have all learned, Lorraine will never ever go out and just get a quick shot and be done with it. She obsesses over every little detail and as a result, her photos certainly show the care she has taken.
So here we have Lorraine’s story…

“I had pondered several ideas as to what subject I might use to silhouette for this challenge. I just kept coming back to a silhouette at the railroad bridge that I had selected for my year long challenge. I set up my tripod in the road. It dead ends into the lake so I wasn’t too concerned about cars. I started taking shots as the sun went down. I had to work on it to get the desired framing as I was lower down on the road looking upward. I took a lot of different exposures as the sun was setting in hopes of getting the colors right. Another one of the obstacles I ran into was that the cars at the top of the hill kept pulling in and out of the Rowlett Community Center. It was hard timing it just right to avoid a car and its lights ruining my shot. It took quite a few shots but I finally captured what I wanted.”

Fire Under the Railroad Bridge (Photo by Lorraine)

Fire Under the Railroad Bridge
(Photo by Lorraine)

15 thoughts on “March challenge: Silhouettes… Entry #6 Fire Under the Railroad Bridge

  1. Lorraine… this is an incredible photo. I can see one photo or I can see two photos yet you had the brilliant idea of catching the setting sun beneath the bridge yet still maintaining the blue sky above. Not exactly sure how you pulled that off but it is a striking photo in so many ways. Fantastic shot!

    • Fay,
      Thank you so much for your very nice comments! I had the advantage of having a thick bridge to separate the blue sky from the orange at dusk. I had never paid much attention to how the sky above a setting sun can remain quite blue, and when you have something in your image that goes horizontal it can hide the transition to orange. Thanks again!

  2. Lorraine,
    This is so beautiful. Yes, as Lala has mentioned, the striking difference between the orange color and the blue is so beautifully captured. In fact, I think you are so advance for the April “LINE” challenge as I can see four distinct lines in this image. Aside from capturing it so beautifully, it is very sharp as well.
    You aced it crazy woman.

  3. Very intersting Silhouette, the colors are very interesting. They really draw you in!
    Great Job Lorraine, I think this pic is like something you would see in an art gallery!! You have a really creative eye!! Way to go!

  4. Donna,
    Thank you so much for your compliments and kind words. I really am enjoying hanging around “my” bridge more and more.

  5. Lorraine,

    All I can say is WOW!! I am always amazed at your photos. Great job and the colors are great with the blue and orange. Amazing picture.

    • Kristen P,
      Thank you so much for your compliments! I am looking forward to seeing you sometime after you graduate! You Rock!!!

Leave a Reply

