A Return Visit to Shoot the Butterflies

On Thursday, Lorraine, Debbie, and I returned to the butterfly house at the Texas Discovery Gardens and took my “special friend” Lucy along.

Lucy was excited as she has never before seen butterflies and could not believe her eyes as they fluttered about. I made certain to change her clothes in hopes that bright colors might attract the butterflies but even though she held very still they seemed to prefer to flutter around the crazies instead. I was able to get one photo where a Zebra Longwing butterfly came close to get a better look at her.

Lucy and the Zebra Longwing (Photo by Lala)

Lucy and the Zebra Longwing Butterfly
(Photo by Lala)

Lucy and the Crazy Women... Lorraine, Lucy and Debbie(Photo by Lala)

Lucy and the Crazy Women… Lorraine and Debbie
(Photo by Lala)

Let me share with you a few of the photos by Lorraine.

Soon to Fly Free (Photo by Lorraine)

Soon to Fly Free
(Photo by Lorraine)

Paper Kite(Photo by Lorraine)

Paper Kite
(Photo by Lorraine)

(Photo by Lorraine)

(Photo by Lorraine)

16 thoughts on “A Return Visit to Shoot the Butterflies

    • Fay,
      Thank you! I was afraid of how my images were going to come out since it was so difficult and I am sooo slow to click!

      • Fay,
        Wanted to also mention to you how much I love that shot of Lucy! I think you did an excellent job!!!! I love how you captured the butterfly so close to her face!!! Also, the background is great! I can appreciate how hard that shot was to get that day!! Those butterfly’s just didn’t quite know what to think of Lucy! Tell Lucy….she looks really beautiful in that shot!

  1. Lorraine,

    Good job. I love them all. My favorite is the paper kite.

    You all look good in the portrait. I bet y’all had a good time till the accident. Sorry to hear that Debbie.

    • Tess,
      Thank you for your compliments. I used a macro extension tube on my lens to try to get closer to what a macro lens could do and I was pleased with it , but it has a lot of limitations that can be kinda annoying when you are trying to shoot.

      • Yes Lorraine, it takes a while to get the hang of using macro. I’m still practicing in using mine. But you did and excellent job.

  2. Fay, Lucy is beautiful with the butterfly. Lorraine, your butterflies are beautiful. I really like the paper kite. I didn’t see the ones that were soon to be free. Great job on all the pictures

    • Debbie,
      Thank you! The butterflies were so active that day it was really hard to get a good shot. I think it tested our patience, huh? The ones that were about to be freed were up against the wall near the entrance/exit. There was so much to look around at that I can see how you might of missed them.

  3. Hello Fay;
    The butterflies seems to love Lucy hanging around, I am surprised they did not all  land on her. Lucy is such a beautiful butterfly herself.
    Frank C

    • Thanks so much Allyson! Lucy loves people and loves to make them laugh! Be sure to check out the ongoing adventures on “Where’s Lucy?” on the right side of the blog. She too is a “crazy woman”!

  4. Looks like great fun was had with Lucy along, until… Well you all know the story.. Hope your feeling ok Debbie!
    I too love the Paper kite, so clear!! Great job on the photos Lorraine!
    Hard to believe that the butterflys did not flock to Lucy, as she is a bit “stiffer” then the rest of us Crazies!! Just teasing! Hope she has a good sense of humor!

Leave a Reply

