Photography… make it a part of your life!

When I get photos sent to me from the crazy women for no particular reason other than the fact that they are proud of them, it reinforces what this club is all about. When photography becomes a part of your life, it changes who you are and how you look at the world. It is about living in the moment. I will feature some of these photos before the February challenge is due.

One of the objectives in the club is to get you shooting things you might not ordinarily think to shoot and in the process you will develop a fondness for a particular kind of photography as in architecture, abstract, nature, macro, food, documentary, or whatever. Well, I think Lorraine has found her niche. She loves being outside and loves nature so the other day I found some photos from Lorraine in my e-mail.

She and Mike made a trip to White Rock Lake recently and she said they had not been there in a long, long time and that was before she ever considered picking up a camera. She sent me some drop-dead gorgeous bird photos and I want to share them with you.

Goose (Photo by Lorraine)

Goose
(Photo by Lorraine)

Say What? (Photo by Lorraine)

Say What?
(Photo by Lorraine)

Best Friends (Photo by Lorraine)

Best Friends
(Photo by Lorraine)

Could it be love? (Photo by Lorraine)

Could it be love?
(Photo by Lorraine)

11 thoughts on “Photography… make it a part of your life!

  1. Lorraine…
    These photos are superb… so colorful and sharp! They are well composed and I was particularly impressed that the white feathers were not overexposed as so often is the case. They retain so much detail, and you also have the eyes in focus with a beautiful catch light in the eyes. You have done a great job!

    And to think you have progressed to this point in about 7 months! Incredible!

  2. Fay,
    Thank you so much for your encouragement and kind words! I greatly appreciate all you do in helping us crazy women learn and have fun while doing it! I wouldn’t do as well otherwise!!!

    Also, I just learned something. I had never heard of a “catch light”. I went back and looked at my images closer and I see what you mean!!! Cool!

    I also have learned how to improve the brightness and contrast of my images by making adjustments to the raw file using software. I don’t have Lightroom, but I use Nikon ViewNX.

    Thanks again!

  3. Lorraine,

    These are work of a pro. You really captured them all so perfectly. I am so much impressed with your progress in photography world in such a short period of time.

    Love them all, but I think your goose is the culprit in biting Lala’s “behind” when we both went there to test her new telephoto lens. The one who bit me was a blue-eyed one. LMAO.

    Yes Merrie, there are lots of pelican at the WRL. We counted 15 when we were there.

    Again Lorraine, you did an excellent job.

    • Tess,
      Thank you so much for your compliments! You are so kind! I appreciate all your encouragement! I am surprised sometimes myself at how my images sometimes come out! I am still quite a newbie at this and often forget some simple rules of photography when I get all involved in trying to get the shot! If I had a goose after my behind, I know thinking about ISO,SP, and aperture would of been the last thing on my mind!!!!!!!!!

      Also Tess, I wouldn’t be where I am at today if it wouldn’t of been for your persistance and encouragement to join the CWPC! I will never forget this!!!

      • Lorraine,

        That is so sweet. It is not me really. Lala opened the door, I let you in, then you explored the world of photography with tenacity and strong determination to reach for perfection.

        Please don’t tell Lala, that I told you that it was her butt that was bitten by the mean goose. It’s our little secret ok? LOL.

Leave a Reply

