The Critters of the DWA

The variety here is quite amazing from birds to monkeys, underwater habitat and penguins. With every turn there is something new to shoot. The complications are many to shoot this venue effectively. There are issues with low light, distance and difficulty shooting subjects underwater. It is definitely a good place to learn to try to adapt to your varying surroundings… increase your ISO, alter your shutter speed accordingly, steady your camera, flash might be helpful in some circumstances and watch for sudden movement as a bird flies in to get a better look at YOU!

Jelly Fish  (Photo by Lorraine)

Jelly Fish
(Photo by Lorraine)

Lorraine had also gotten an excellent shot of this jaguar. A while back I had signed a petition in an attempt to get the DWA to release this beautiful animal to a cat sanctuary. It breaks my heart to see her spending her life behind glass with no natural environment to live in. Her space is small and she paces from side to side. This animal, imo, does not belong here! As I was trying to shoot her, I found that it was too difficult as tears welled up in my eyes.

It will be a happy day if that petition can set her free to run on real grass and feel the wind in her face and live out the rest of her life in a natural habitat. She deserves so much better than this… and I would like to think that Dallas is better than this. I will keep you updated.

Save this Big Cat (Photo by Lorraine)

Save this Big Cat
(Photo by Lorraine)

If you wish to add your name to the petition… please do so. Let’s do all we can to make life better for this animal!
https://www.change.org/petitions/dallas-world-aquarium-please-release-this-beautiful-and-amazing-animal-to-a-sanctuary-i-have-one-willing-to-take-him
I do believe that Lorraine was the only one to get a good shot of this blue frog. He was tiny, in a terrarium and sometimes hidden by foliage. We all know that when Lorraine has decided to get an image she will work her butt off to get the shot. She was so excited when she discovered the little frog and took me over to see it. I thought she would never be able to get it, but by now I should know that I should never underestimate the power of a woman… especially if her name is Lorraine!

The Blue Frog (Photo by Lorraine)

The Blue Frog
(Photo by Lorraine)

8 thoughts on “The Critters of the DWA

  1. Lorraine…
    As always your persistence pays off.
    And I must tell you, the photo of the jaguar that I got was terrible. I got the glare of the glass and at the time I was so upset, I couldn’t bear to stand there much longer. When I saw your image, I was ecstatic that it was so clear and so sharp, and I immediately knew I would use that to promote the cause!

    • Fay,
      Thanks for the nice compliments! Yes, it’s a wonderful place to visit and a great opportunity to experience and learn more about taking photos in difficult lighting situations, through glass, and with moving animals and people! I had such a great time!

      I was surprised the jaguar came out as well as it did since I had to crop so much of it due to people with bright clothing standing on the opposite side of the glass enclosure! I am glad you like it and feel honored you would want to use it!!!

      As for the blue frog! He or she drove me nuts moving around in its terrarium hiding out! It’s so tiny and hard to spot. So the challenge was on!! I wasn’t going to let it win if I could help it!! It’s hard to imagine this beautiful frog could be posionous!

      Again thank you for your compliments. I learned the hard way that day about using too high of an ISO could cause too much noise. I had some otherwise decent images ruined by this!

  2. Lorraine,

    You ACED this blue frog. You really did an excellent job. Wow, this is so tack-sharp, and the colors are too vibrant. I don’t have a good shot of this frog, but I did tried too many times only to end up with frustration after frustration.

    The jelly fish and the jaguar are also beautiful, but the blue frog is my favorite.

    Very good job as always Lorraine.

    • Tess,
      Thank you so much for your nice comments! I am glad you like the frog! I am not sure which one I like the best. I like each of them in different ways! I had so many that I had such difficulty with! It was a great learning experience and I had so much fun! Thank You for all your encouragement!!!!!

    • Dick,
      Thank you!!! I didn’t realize it would be liked so well! I don’t think the frog enjoyed the photo session. It kept trying to hide from me!

  3. Lorraine,

    Your pictures are truly awesome. I was so excited when I saw your picture of the blue frog. I wanted a good picture of the frog so bad and along with Tess ended up being frustrated. The jelly fish and tiger are very good but my fav is the blue frog. Great job

    • Debbie,
      Thank you for your compliments! I just was looking back through photos and happened to see your comment! I think I just got lucky with that blue frog.

Leave a Reply

