January Challenge: Entry #8… The Elusive Tree

This is the final image for this challenge. Many thanks to all of you who have committed to this challenge and it will be interesting to see what you capture as the year progresses. Keep your images in a separate folder on your computer for easy retrieval. Keep shooting throughout the year and at the end of the year we will each work on putting a collage together and will share your variations on a theme with all the crazies.

As you know I was quite intrigued by Kevin Day’s entries for “My Friend, the Dead Tree” and that was what sparked this challenge. So as I was considering what to shoot, I thought of several trees that I like at the lake. The lake is close to home so that would be convenient. I shot several trees in the process and narrowed it down to two and then sought advice from my photog friend as to which might be the best to use… and then the decision was made. Now I was ready to start the challenge.

I awoke one morning to see a thick fog enveloping the world and I knew I had to get out and shoot “my tree”. No time for a shower or brushing my teeth or even breakfast. I quickly dressed, grabbed my camera and keys and off I went. I pulled into the parking lot and walked through the wet grass and started shooting. The fog was so thick that morning that I could not see where my car was parked and could barely make out the tree. I walked closer and looked down at the lake and wondered what happened to all the water that only a couple days ago had been up to the shoreline of the lake. Something was wrong… very wrong. That’s when I realized I was shooting the wrong tree! Talk about being in a fog! CRAZY WOMAN!

So I followed the shoreline back to my car and went to the next parking lot, got out of the car, walked a ways and realized it was the wrong parking lot. Back in the car and backtracked and finally found the right parking lot and the right tree! Took quite a few shots both close up and far away, vertical and horizontal. At this point my shoes were soaked but I had a variety of photos to add to my collection. Back to the car and heading home for breakfast but in the dense fog I totally missed the turnoff to I-30 and realized it when I arrived at the marina, so once again, I did a “U-ey” and finally found the road to home (and breakfast!).

The first photo that I am submitting is the one I took on a sunny day. Once again, I had several images to choose from. This particular one I actually liked because of the lense flare pointing directly at “my tree”. Lense flare is caused when the light directly hits your lense and can have a positive or negative effect on the final image. I was attempting to get a sun star when this occurred and I rather liked the effect… and there is no doubt which is “my tree” and that was why I chose this particular image.

I look forward to shooting this tree throughout the year. Thus far I have captured it in sun, snow and fog and already the photos look very different from one another.

Keep shooting “crazy women”! I think this will end up being a fun challenge.

The Elusive Tree (Photo by Lala)

The Elusive Tree
(Photo by Lala)

10 thoughts on “January Challenge: Entry #8… The Elusive Tree

  1. Great photo as always. This will be awesome thru the months to come. I like the lense flare. This is going to be a fun challenge

  2. Lala,

    This is sooooo beautiful. I love the scenic view that looks so serene. How did you made the sky as blue as this? Did you used a polarizing filter?

    That is too funny that you were lost. Oh no not Lala. I’m the one who is always lost and got some direction issues, and never Lala. LOL.

    I can’t wait to see your whole year photo collection about this tree.

    • Thanks Tess! No polarizer on this one but I may have underexposed it a bit. It was just a beautiful day… certainly better than the foggy day. Geez Tess, if you had been with me that day in the fog, we may have never found the car!

  3. It’s a beautiful picture and choice!! I love the whole effect from the sun, and Tess is right the sky is a beautiful color of blue!!! I have been thinking that I want a fog shot too, so I get leaving the house no shower, PO care and no breakfast, who knew it would be a game of lost and found!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  4. Fay,
    Very Nice!!! Gives me a very peaceful and uplifting feeling when I view this! I really like “your tree” and talk about a great background with the lake! Your image includes multiple effects with the lens flare, the reflection on the water and a very sharp image of your special tree! Really makes for a nice photo! Now wouldn’t that be something if an egret or blue heron should decide to visit your tree while you are shooting!!!

    I can just picture you roaming around the lake trying to find your tree…how funny! Sounds like something I would do!!!

    I am really going to enjoy this challenge and there is just something neat about having a subject to focus on and spend time with for the next year! I must admit, at first I wasn’t sure about this challenge, but now I am in to it and looking forward to not only what I can learn and do but anxious to see all the other crazy women’s great photo’s!!!

    Great image and a good challenge!

    • Thanks so much Lorraine! I do think you were the most inventive of all with the railroad bridge. I would have never thought of that and I think it is very unique. It will be interesting to see how it all plays out by the end of the year.

Leave a Reply

