January Challenge: Entry #2… Urban Landscape

When this monthly challenge was issued I thought, ok, what do I want to shoot?
I want it to be interesting and hold my attention throughout the year. Well who knew that once I decided on this landscape I would be so intrigued again? Thanks for making us think outside the box when it comes to photography!

This landscape is down the street from my home and I drive by it daily.
I can’t tell you how many times I have passed it in the last month and thought “I wish I had my camera”, “I need to shoot this soon”, “Oh my what a great shot this would be!”
So on the last snowy day I took my camera to work and stopped on the way, shot it in the morning and in the evening on the way home.
Fay you were right, this is going to be great fun!!

Urban Landscape

Urban Landscape
(Photo by Donna)

12 thoughts on “January Challenge: Entry #2… Urban Landscape

  1. I think it is interesting that Lorraine took her shot in B&W and you took yours in color but yours also appears like a black and white due to the snow and the cloud cover. A perfect example how light can fool the eye. It will be interesting to see how this scenic changes throughout the year.

    • I was thinking about a B&W, but when I looked at the results on the computer, I left it alone. I liked that the colors in the photo actually made it cold! I love driving by it everyday, oh the possibilities!

  2. Donna,
    It would be interesting how this place will look within the year.
    I bet spring is beautiful here. The landscape accentuated the pond so nicely. Are those birds or ducks swimming in the middle of the pond? You always have a good set of eyes about things, and yes you looked outside of the box.
    Good job, can’t wait to see your next pictures.

    • It will be fun to see it in the spring, I can’t wait, since I like the warmer weather! Those are ducks! It was quite a surprise to see them that morning! I look for them everytime I drive by! Thanks for the kind words! I LOVE this club and all my photo friends of CWPC!

      • Donna… your words have struck a chord and I am elated that “you guys” are having such fun with it all. I too love the comraderie of this group. Y’all make it so much fun! Who knew photography could be such fun?

  3. Donna,
    I like how you were able to capture your subject with the snow! It’s so interesting to learn how the effects of the lighting and the snow can create what looks like a B&W! I think you made a very good choice in your subject. I can see how having water involved, can open up so many possibilities! I am looking forward to seeing some more great images!!!!

  4. I was excited to get a snow shot, I knew I would have to get it in the morning, and I was right, by the time I got home there was no snow left! Thanks for the encouragment, on the subject! After seeing yours yesterday I was thinking I hope my landscape will be interesting enough, but I think you are right and your encouragement in the post help reassure my initial decision to shoot this “urban landscape.” Thanks for your positive comments, Lorraine!

  5. Donna,

    I knew you would do a great job and thanks for the hug this morning. I really love how CWPC is bringing us closer together. Donna you have such a great eye. Can’t wait to see what it looks like when the weather warms. Awesome job

  6. Donna, I love this shot with the snow and water. I see all kinds of possibilities as the seasons change. Nice photo and great place you picked for the monthly challenge.

  7. Thanks Merrie!! I was excited about shooting the landscape in the snow!! I have been thinking about challenging myself with different monthly ideas foe the landscape!! I’m hoping for February to shoot it with a red sky!! Thanks for the comment and kind words!

  8. My admiration to you for getting out in the snow for your shot. It looks like a peaceful place, and I look forward to seeing it in all seasons.

Leave a Reply

