Happy New Year Crazy Women!

Lemon Drizzle Cake (Photo by Lala)

Lemon Drizzle Cake
(Photo by Lala)

What can I say? This past year has been crazy!

The CWPC came into existence in March of 2012 as the result of several of the nurses wanting to learn more about photography and the desire to buy cameras and since I had just retired, I thought perhaps I could help get them started. Out of this desire, came the CWPC and I can tell you it has been a labor of love.

We now have 29 members with four members being “virtual” members due to a distance factor. And yes, Lynda is from the UK so I guess that makes us international.

To better share information as well as our photos, the CWPC blog was started June 25, 2012 and that has been a big learning curve for me, but I have learned to navigate the glitches and there is a wealth of information now on the blog. I am pleased to say that the blog has been visited by 32 countries thus far! How exciting to have our photos seen around the world and to share our crazy experiences.

Our challenges have pushed us to shoot things we might not otherwise shoot and because of these challenges we are learning to critique each other’s photos in an attempt to better understand photography… what works and what doesn’t, and how we can improve our techniques.

The comraderie is incredible! I have never in my lifetime been out with a bunch of crazy women like you and had so much fun. We learn, we laugh, we shoot, we eat and then we laugh some more. By the end of the day, my smile muscles ache! And we cannot forget the craziness of the men’s auxillary.

And of course we love to see the Fed Ex guy come to our door with another goody! I cannot imagine how much money has been spent by the crazy women as you have been buying cameras, lenses, tripods, etc. And to think, only a few months ago, many of you had no idea what ISO, shutter speed and f-stop had to do with photography and now it is beginning to make sense.

We have learned that as crazy women we have the power to “move the sun” and we have grasped the concept of shooting an abstract image. We have shot sunsets, bugs and butterflies, animals, hot air balloons, bikers, pumpkins, water, food, BBQ competitions, hands, and the moon. We have made funny images as well as images that have a very emotional element to them. We have gone out of our comfort zone in shooting things we might not have otherwise shot. We have learned about the panning technique and several members have been dabbling in photoshop. And all of this has happened over only a 9 month period.

In March we will put together a hard-bound photography book filled with our bios, photos, challenges and stories about our adventures together.

As we begin a new year, I would like to thank all of you who have participated in the club. You are an incredible group of crazy women! Your enthusiasm is infectious and I am so thrilled to see you excel in your new found hobby and I can only hope that your love of photography will take you through the rest of your life. I love it when you send me photos just because you wanted to get out there and shoot. That’s what it is all about. And when that happens, I know photography is becoming an important part of your life. Over the last nine months I have seen your photography improve. And for those of you who have been watching from the sidelines, I encourage you to pick up your cameras and come out and join us. It does not matter what you are shooting with. The technology today is remarkable. Come join the fun and learn at the same time.

So I thank you all for making this club a reality and I look forward to a lot more fun times together. If you have suggestions for the upcoming year, please share your thoughts. This is your club and I want it to work for you.

Happy shooting…

Fay (a.k.a. Lala)

10 thoughts on “Happy New Year Crazy Women!

  1. Lala,
    It’s a privilege to be in the club of the crazies. My great appreciation to you for creating this full of fun club. Thank you so much and happy new year to you and your family.
    Happy new year to all of the crazies too.

    • Thanks Tessie! We’ve had so many good times together and I look forward to many more! Thanks for recruiting so many of our members and getting the word out.
      Happy New Year to you and Nick!

  2. Thank you Fay for taking time for us and your patience. I look forward to many more outings and meeting more of the women in the club. Hope you have a safe and happy new year. See you in 2013!!

  3. Happy New Year to you Fay!
    The sentiments you have posted here are so lovely and true!
    One of the best days of 2012 for me was meeting you at the farmer market! It couldn’t have been better timing! I love being a member of CWPC for the many reasons you listed, friends, outings, challenges and the photography!
    We are lucky to have you as our guide and teacher!
    I look forward to 2013 and all the fun in store for us as a club!
    Thanks again for all your hard work and
    especially your love of photography!

    • Thanks Donna! Sure appreciate the kind words! I just kind of put it together but you guys are the ones that make it such fun! Looking forward to more good times in 2013!

  4. Fay,
    Happy New Year to you!!!
    I can’t begin to tell you how much being a part of the CWPC means to me!! I truly appreciate all your hard work you have put into helping us learn and making it so fun!

    I feel so fortunate to learn with such a great group of crazy women! You gals are the best!

    And to Tess….. Thanks for giving me the push to take a look at photography and joining the club! Now you have done it…. I am no longer the same. I am venturing out more and I am so excited to be learning and enjoying photography!

    To all…. Best Wishes in this New Year!

    • Thanks Lorraine!
      We have all watched you blossom… and what fun it has been!
      Your persistence in getting the shot is to be admired and I appreciate all your kind words.
      It is hard to believe that only months ago, photography was not a part of your life. And now… you are looking at the world differently and wanting to capture what you see!
      Happy New Year to you and Mike. And a big thanks to Mike for his input!

    • Lorraine,
      Thank you for the kind words. All the praises should go to Lala. She is the one who opened the door for all of us, I just pass the words to you. The two of us are just about the same. I am just about 4 months ahead of you in photography, which is really not much. All the credit is with YOU yourself. You have that hidden talent that even youtdelf is not aware off. Your tenacity and strong determination to achieve “The perfect capture” is infectious. I wish I am as determined as you. Thank you for all the beautiful photos that you have shared to us all. Your hard work is truly appreciated.

  5. Happy New Year to you Fay (LaLa) and all the crazy women! I’ve only been able to attend one outing with the gals this past year but through our time together and the blog and your encouragement I have been learning a lot about photography and forming new friendships. I hope 2013 will be a great year for more learning, laughter and fun! Thanks for everything you do to make the CWPC so great!

Leave a Reply

