Food Challenge: Entry #11 “Romany Lunch”

I got this entry from Lynda in the UK.
“Here is my entry – very much tongue in cheek.
The photo was taken at St Tiggiwinkles in Bucks.”

Be sure to check out this amazing link:     http://www.sttiggywinkles.org.uk/

I must admit I did not understand it at first and had to refer to Google to figure it out.  So let’s start with “romany”.

The Romani are an ethnic group living mostly in Europe, who trace their origins to the Indian Subcontinent.   Romani are widely known in the English-speaking world by the exonym Gypsies.

A favorite European Roma dish has traditionally been roasted hedgehog, although this delicacy is gradually falling from favor among many Roma. It has a rich and succulent meat with a pork-like flavor, which is also enjoyed by some non-Roma Europeans. Ideally, this animal is flavored with garlic and placed skin and all above burning hot coals or stones.  In this way, it cooks in its own juices.  When the roasting is completed, the animal’s prickles are shaved or picked off and the skin is peeled back.  The meat is served, sometimes wrapped in aromatic leaves.

And then she added… “Notice anything about the hedgehog??”
So what do you think Crazy Women?  Notice anything about the hedgehog?  (Awwww… I do!)
(PS…  No animal was hurt or distressed in the taking of this picture.)

Romany Lunch
(Photo by Lynda)

8 thoughts on “Food Challenge: Entry #11 “Romany Lunch”

  1. Lynda,
    Ewww this is gross. Not your picture, but the thought of eating this poor cute thing is mean and nasty. Well if it is in their culture then it is what it is. Not for me though.
    As for your picture, it is so sharp and well detailed. Splendid.
    But what is wrong with the legs? Where is the other one? Don’t tell me that the Romani eat them in pieces? That is even more meaner. Oh my.

    • That is quite an awesome place and all the good that they do for the animals!
      Lynda, I love this little guy and when I opened your entry I didn’t know what to make of it. I left it ’til last because I have one more food entry to post and you will see why when you see entry #12!

  2. Lynda,
    I like the details in the fur or hair of this poor 3 legged hedgehog. I checked out the St. Tiggiwinkles hospital site and was very impressed. Great photo and story behind it! I have to admit I could never eat one….however I do respect other cultures and enjoy learning about them.

  3. Lynda,

    Such a cute little animal. I looked closely at the photo and noticed it only had 3 legs. Poor thing. That was very interesting about their culture but that doesn’t sound appetizing to me. Great picture

Leave a Reply

