Food Challenge: Entry #3… P07 Phở Gà (Chicken Noodle Soup)

One of our newest club members is submitting this image.  As you probably previously read, Merrie had inherited an Olympus camera from her dad and needed some help in learning some of the basics, so we met for a Vietnamese lunch at Yogurt Wasted in Rowlett and we reviewed her “destruction” book and had a crash course to get her started.  As our lunch was served, she decided to get her food photo for September.

And this is what Merrie says…  “I chose this one because although there is some glare in it, the soup looks like you could just eat it.   I liked that it showed the bubbles too.  I didn’t notice that so much in the restaurant but I think it shows that the soup is still hot and ready to eat.   Most of the ones with the chopsticks came out with a lot of glare on the chopsticks, which probably is not a bad thing as it looked natural.”

It was a learning curve for both of us when I discovered Merrie was shooting tiff images and after some reading we decided that for now she should be shooting jpegs, so this tiff image was changed to a jpeg image in photoshop.

We sat in the restaurant for almost five hours going through her equipment and reviewing some photographic basics.  Thank you Tim, for letting the “crazy women” hang out!

Chicken Noodle Soup
(Photo by Merrie)

13 thoughts on “Food Challenge: Entry #3… P07 Phở Gà (Chicken Noodle Soup)

  1. Merry,
    Welcome to the club.
    This picture looks so good. Yes it’s making me hungry too.
    You are so lucky to have a one on one five tutorial with “The One”.
    Beautiful picture.

  2. Great picture Merrie. So glad you had some one on one time with Fay. I’ve had the experience myself and it is a great time and very inf

  3. Merrie,
    Welcome to the CWCP! I really like how you framed this image. The bubbles in the soup really bring it to life! I also really like the reflections on the chopsticks. I imagine your dad would be very happy that you are using his camera and learning how to take great photos with it!!!

    • Thanks Lorraine! Yes, my Dad would be proud that I’ve taken an interest in photography and that I’m getting some use out of his camera. I can’t wait to do more.

  4. Wow that’s a great first entry, I would never have thought of placing the chopstix over the soup, I love the detail of them in the shot. I also love how you cropped the photo only including part of the bowl! Nice!

  5. Very nice image Merrie. Typically, glare is not good, but it mainly effected your background. For me, it draws even more attention to the soup by decreasing the contrast in the background. Just say it was intentional and display it proudly!

Leave a Reply

