Correcting Lens Distortion

Let me start out by saying we have had a great response to the “red challenge” and a special thanks to all who submitted photos and to those of you who commented!   I certainly hope you are enjoying these challenges as well as learning a few new things along the way.

We are fortunate to have some talented photographers who are following this blog and whenever I can, I will include their input to help us all learn from them.  Lorraine’s husband Mike is quite an accomplished photographer and he has been so supportive to Lorraine as she learns to navigate her new camera.  He is also following the blog and I’m sure has gotten quite a few chuckles along the way!

He did  share with me the story of how Lorraine wanted to go out in the street and shoot that plane that was flying over Rowlett at night spraying insecticide for the mosquitoes.  She was bound and determined she was going to shoot it.  (We have already seen her determination with the fire engine when poor Disc440’s house burned down!)  He begged and pleaded not to do it, but she was adamant.  Finally he told her that the insecticide would forever contaminate her camera, and with that Lorraine decided she would stay in the house and forego the shot.  (BRAVO Mike!)

Gina… if you will allow me to use one of your photos, Mike has made a suggestion about when we shoot architectural shots.   I had told him that I seldom shoot architecture and he wondered if it was because of the distortion element.  Here again… the camera sees different than our eye.  When you shoot a building you are shooting up at an angle to include the length of the building and as a result there is distortion.  Yes… there are tilt shift lenses you can buy to correct this; however, they are expensive and for most of us, the cost cannot be justified.

If you use Adobe Photoshop there is a way to correct this distortion and it is really quite simple as I have used it in the past… and I am not good with photoshop.  I find it so intimidating.  But by using a few sliders you can fix most problems and can even use it to fix close-ups of people’s faces that have been shot with a wide-angle setting.  So… let me show you the before and after thanks to Mike’s skillful manipulation.  Thanks Mike for bringing this to our attention and supporting the Crazy Women!

Before correction

Correction by Mike

6 thoughts on “Correcting Lens Distortion

  1. Mike,
    Thank you for your support to Lorraine and also to the club as a whole.
    This is a very good correction of the building. I have a few structure pictures but have not corrected them yet. I never thought that you can actually make the building look like you are taking the picture in front of it not from down looking up.
    Thanks so much for the idea. I do appreciate it.

    • Thanks Tess,
      As I told Fay, I only just now discovered this capability in Adobe PS myself.

      I’m enjoying following the great photos on the blog and seeing Lorraine’s growing interest in photography. I’m not sure she has balanced her priorities just yet though considering her obvious lack of concern regarding the loss of disc440’s house.

  2. Thanks Fay but I’m just another amateur photographer. “Accomplished” is pushing it. Now if I can just get that razor sharp image of the hummingbird I’m after, I will have accomplished something!

    • I asked my photo friend in the UK about this. He has the latest version of Lightroom and advises it is not possible in LR at this time.
      So… if you need a building that needs to be straightened, just contact MIke! (OOPS! Don’t tell Mike I said that!)

Leave a Reply

