Congratulations!

Congratulations to all of you who participated in the monthly challenge!

I will begin posting photos over a several day period and I encourage everyone in the club or who are receiving this blog to make comments.  Tell us what you like about the photo and constructive criticism can also be a learning tool.  Please remember, that this is a new venture for many and your support will be greatly appreciated!

Our goal is to advance our photographic knowledge.  In a year’s time, we will review where we started and where we are 12 months later.  We will put together a book filled with images and stories about our journey together.  This is all about supporting each other in our quest for knowledge and in the ongoing challenge to shoot that “perfect” image.  And there is no one right answer.  Photography is personal… it is your vision.

My wish for you is that your photography may become more than just a photograph.   I want it to be a part of your life… a place you can go to find joy at each stage in your life.  I want it to capture memories that will stay with you for a lifetime.

And for the first challenge… Shoot Something You Love …

Cemetery Rose
(Photo by Lorraine)

So for our first image of the challenge, I would like to present Lorraine’s image and let me have Lorraine tell you in her own words about why this image means so much to her.

“Mike and I went out on a drive hoping something would catch my eye for this assignment.    I saw an historic marker sign on the road and pulled off to find this lone pair of roses growing on a cemetery fence. Mike allowed me to use his camera…with supervision!  Ha!

It was very hot so Mike stayed in the van most of the time but was available when I had questions.  He didn’t take his eyes off his camera!!!! I faced quite a challenge… It was hot, bright, and windy.   I had never used a DSLR and didn’t know how to hold it properly.  I didn’t even know how to adjust the zoom and kept going back to the van to show Mike the pictures and he kept saying “That’s a picture of a cemetery, not a flower”.  This went on for a while until I realized I had to turn the lens to zoom the camera!!!    It was sure a relief when after many trips, I finally was told…”Now that is a picture of a flower!”.

I ended up having to go back the next day as I was not happy with the images because of the glare off of the leaves because of the bright sun. Mike showed me how I could use a polarizing filter for shooting in bright sunlight. The second day went a lot better than the first…..although I still had many challenges.   I used a tripod.  That was the day that the strong winds came through later and killed 2 people when the crane blew over at UTD.  I also had a tough time framing.   The wind was blowing the roses, there was a half dead branch on the left that I couldn’t keep completely out of the frame.  Then there was a tree branch hanging down in the background that I had to tie back with something Mike had in the van.  It was a struggle to get the tombstones positioned in a way that looked right relative to the roses. So I can honestly say that it was truly a challenge for me.

The challenge of taking a photo of something you love was met for me.   I love flowers, and historic sites, including historic cemeteries.”

7 thoughts on “Congratulations!

  1. Lorraine… I am in awe of the effort you put in to getting this photo. Two days to get it right! I so much like the delicate rose against the chainlink fence. And your shallow depth of field has blurred the tombstones in the background drawing full attention to the rose… the subject of the photo. Excellent!

    And I think we can all learn from Mike’s comment about using a polarizing filter to diminish the glare on leaves in the bright sun. And that polarizer will also help to deepen the blue in the sky.

    By using a tripod, you maximized your chance of getting this rose in sharp focus when battling the wind. The wind can make photography a challenge and sometimes requires a faster shutter speed to prevent blurring.

    I think you did a great job capturing this beautiful rose! You go girl!

    • Lala,

      Thanks for the comments.

      I hope that with this experience behind me, I will be able get the shot I want in one day next time. The poor roses were wilting fast in this heat. I felt by the 2nd day how the roses were beginning to look!

      I really like the caption you used. I struggled to come up with a caption and realize now I was over complicating it. In two words, you highlighted the subject and established the location. I’ll keep this in mind next time.

  2. Lorraine~
    Nice job, I too love flowers even more after our trip to the arboretum!
    I am so excited that you got to use your husbands camera, that is awesome and that he came with you! You are super lucky to have your own COACH at home!
    First, I learned from your post and discription of your photo that I am going to need to do a better job with my discription! It really enhanced your picture, gave it more meaning to me the viewer!
    Had you not told the story of where you took the picture, I would not have recognized the tombstones in the backround!
    Secondly, I loved how you captured the fence in the pic, I may not have done that, zooming in on the rose, missing that rustic addition.
    Lastly, I would like to learn more about a polarizing filter and see examples (like before and after)!
    See you soon!
    Donna

    • Donna,

      I appreciate your comments.

      Yes, I am very lucky to have a great coach.

      As far as including the fence in the image, I find myself constantly having to think about the simple things around the subject. I think it helped that I really wanted the image to be of a flower in a cemetery, not just a flower.

      I have before and after images using the polarizing filter. However, they were taken on different days, so aren’t identical. Unfortunately, the leaves are also healthier in the first image, taken without the polarizing filter. Twenty-four hours of Texas heat wasn’t kind to this rose. It was still a good learning experience for me.

  3. Wow, what a good story from Lorraine, i enjoyed reading about your trials and tribulations….(wonder if that word has ever been used in a photography context before.???)
    You’ve made a start and you’ll have lots of fun along the way i’m sure judged by this account.
    And of course you’ve got those Crazy Wimmin to guide you……heh heh heh.

  4. Lorraine, your effort on taking this photo is well paid off. Who would have thought to add the fence link on a flower picture, and in the cemetery? This really came out beautifully. Good job Lorraine, and please stay away from trouble the next time you take a the photo challenge. Cemetery is ok…LOL.

Leave a Reply

