July Challenge: Shutter Speed… Entry #1 The Running Faucet

I will begin this challenge with one of my photos that I took some time ago when visiting the Hill Country of Texas. This was taken at a winery and I was loving this fountain! Now we normally think of a fountain as spraying water upwards but this one was in the opposite direction powered by a recirculating pump. As I was shooting, I decided to try shooting at a a slow shutter speed to blur the water as well as a fast shutter speed to “freeze” the water and these are the resulting pictures which I think explain how shutter speed can very much affect the final photos depending on what you are looking for.

(Click on photo to enlarge.)

Shutter Speed (Photo by Fay-la-la)

Shutter Speed
(Photo by Fay-la-la)

6 thoughts on “July Challenge: Shutter Speed… Entry #1 The Running Faucet

    • Thanks so much Robin. This was obviously easy to shoot as the natural light was quite bright which gave me much leeway in setting my shutter speed even though it was hand held.

  1. Fay,
    Really like how you presented this side by side comparison with using different shutter speeds! What a neat little pump that you captured so nicely!!!

Leave a comment